Day 204- Larry Shure

It’s been a long day. I’ve spent the better part of the afternoon doing homework. It’s taken me forever, just because I kept a tab open on cnn.com to keep an eye on the healthcare debacle that is still going on in the House of Representatives. I’m on the verge of biting my nails– and I don’t even do that as a habit!

This bill is extremely important to me. I’ve had 19 surgeries and countless hospital stays, so I recognize firsthand that being here today might not be possible had I not had decent healthcare coverage.

But, I’m off my soapbox on that issue for now. Let me tell you about a local I’d like to reach out to. I read about him in the latest edition of the Southwest Orlando Bulletin. His name is Larry Shure, and although his name might not ring a bell for you, the names of his contemporaries certainly will!

Shure is the man on the left. George Clooney is in the middle, and to the right of Clooney (MY right!) is John Cusack. Quite a posse.

Mr. Shure was handpicked by George Clooney and executive producer Joel Gallen to be the music supervisor for their collaborative effort, “America: A Tribute to Heroes.” This was a star-studded evening where Hollywood’s most famous paid their respects and raised funds for the families who lost someone in the 9/11 terrorist attacks. The program was awarded two prime-time Emmys.

When Clooney, Gallen, and their other charitable cohorts decided to help Haiti, they called on Shure to provide his expertise. The result was “Hope for Haiti Now: A Global Benefit for Earthquake Relief.” Of the event, Shure said, “It was definitely more rewarding than many other shows. Everybody there was a volunteer; no one was paid to be there. [….] It was one of those shows where you check your ego at the door.”

Shure has also been to the Super Bowl on several occasions, and he went to the 2010 NBA All-Star Game in Texas with his family.

Here’s the complete article, if you would like to read it.

I have to go, though. I’ve got class tomorrow, and more homework to do. Just think– while I’m busy whining about homework, the fate of our nation’s healthcare system is in the hands of 435 people most of us don’t even know….

Remember to visit Impact Your World to reach out to Haiti and Chile as they recover from their earthquakes.

May God Bless you and keep you HEALTHY,

Laurita ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment