Day 5- Ellen DeGeneres

Media_httpwillyoubemy_bamdc

Comidienne Ellen never stops laughing...or giving.

My life experiences have taught me that you don’t always have to share a person’s exact struggles in order to identify with them. A-List comidienne and talk-show host Ellen DeGeneres is a perfect example of this phenomenon. She may have overcome challenges that I have never faced, but I’m sure the feeling would be mutual if she knew who I am. Her stand-up career started taking off around the 1980s, and in 1994 she landed a sitcom on ABC, the self-titled series, Ellen.

It was during an appearance on Oprah that Ms. DeGeneres officially came out of the closet. Shortly afterward, her character on the sitcom declared herself a lesbian, as well.

Career-wise, Ellen has done everything from starring in a short film with Bill Nye for EPCOT’s “Universe of Energy” attraction to voicing a forgetful fish for Disney/Pixar’s “Finding Nemo.” But she is also well-known for her humanitarian efforts. The comic with a heart of gold has been vocal about a variety of good causes. According to her show’s Web site, “‘The Ellen DeGeneres Show’ has raised close to $10 million to improve the lives of New Orleans residents and recently partnered with Brad Pitt’s ‘Make it Right’ foundation to help rebuild in New Orleans’ Lower Ninth Ward.” Additionally, she has dedicated an episode to Breast Cancer Awareness Month, as well as hosted “American Idol’s” special, “Idol Gives Back,” which raises money for children who live in extreme poverty in Africa and America.

With her track record of charitable giving, it would be hard to imagine that this blog would not spark Ellen’s interest. Let me add that I am finding it increasingly difficult to E-mail celebrities the old-fashioned way. (I know, many would argue there is nothing “old-fashioned” about E-mail!) I admit, part of the reason I thought of her is because I would love to see her bustin’ a move in person, as she is known to do at the beginning of each episode!

Before wrapping up this entry, I would like to give a very special shout-out to my Mom, Myrna Calderón, who is celebrating her birthday today! Unfortunately, she is still recovering from a nasty cough/cold/fever issue (don’t really have a name for it!). But, rest up, and Daddy and I will give you a rain-check! I love you with all my ♥. She is the one who put me up to this blog in the first place, along with my dad, Miguel, who convinced me to pursue a career in journalism. So, if anything happens as a result of this blog, remember, Mom and Dad: THIS IS ALL YOUR FAULT!!! He he. I love you both.

😉  God Bless,

Laurita

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 5- Ellen DeGeneres

  1. Sarita F.

    Feliz Cumpleaños to your sweet Mami. This blog is wonderful Laura. I hope it’s only a matter of weeks and not 365 days before you find your hero.Sara

Leave a Reply

