Day 13- Carrie Underwood

If this veggie babe decides to help us out, I will gladly share my salad with her!

If this veggie babe decides to help us out, I will gladly share my salad with her!

“God put us here on this carnival ride,
We close our eyes never knowing
Where it will take us next.”

Somehow Carrie Underwood’s lyrics seem as fitting a metaphor as any for the immense joy and hope I am experiencing with the overwhelming support of so many people. I want to take a moment to point something out, just in case it hasn’t been obvious:  This is fun for me. Just knowing that so many people care about me and my cause is absolutely refreshing!

So, I wrote to Miss Underwood via a MySpace message (her record label’s page– couldn’t find an actual E-mail address for her). And, it seems, she has been on a “Carnival Ride” of her own. The unassuming Oklahoma native shot to stardom upon winning the fourth season of “American Idol,” and soon made history with her first album being the fastest-selling debut country album in the history of the Nielsen ratings.

An animal-lover at heart, she is a vegetarian and a staunch supporter of the Humane Society of the United States. She also formed the Checotah Animal Town School (C.A.T.S.) Foundation to benefit her hometown. As an “Idol” alum, she has traveled to South Africa for the “Idol Gives Back” charitable effort, and has also performed for American troops in Iraq and Kuwait.

Indeed, in the brief time that the world has known the golden-haired girl with the heart of gold, she has made an indelible mark both in the philanthropic sector, as well as in the arena of country music.

Well now, it is Friday! We are almost at the two-week mark since this project’s inception. It seems as if I’ve known you all much longer, in truth! I’d like to express my gratitude to Shelley Unser, president of the Cody Unser First Step Foundation, who is taking steps herself to ensure that there will someday be a cure for paralysis. Shelley’s the one who reminded me that, indeed, I need to reach out to the Grand Ole Opry for support!

A big thank you to Cristina Fernández Barreto of El Nuevo Día, Puerto Rico, for her ongoing moral suppport and enthusiasm, and to Ybeth Bruzual, of Central Florida News 13, for cheering me on through this! I love you both.

If you would like further information about the Cody Unser First Step Foundation, you can visit http://www.codysfirststep.org.

My hope is that, by the end of the year, I will not just have found one other person, but thousands of others, that are willing to fight the good fight. Now, sit back, and enjoy the ride!

God Bless you all,

😉 Laurita

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 13- Carrie Underwood

  1. Cristina Fernandez

    Laura,

    Siempre a tus órdenes. Thanks for the mention in your blog. It is a privilege to see your great initiative growing.

    Un abrazo,
    Cristina

Leave a Reply

