Day 22- Bruce Springsteen

He may be nearing sixty, but this all-American Jersey boy, a.k.a. The Boss, can still ignite a crowd! Revered for such hits as “Born in the U.S.A.” and “Secret Garden,” Springsteen continues to give his all on the stage– while simultaneously giving back to the global community.

Springsteen first collaborated with Amnesty International, which promotes human rights, in 1988 for the Human Rights Now! concert tour. Ten years later, he again joined forces with the organization on Human Rights Day in Paris (including an appearance by the Dalai Lama!).

He is also an avid supporter of World Hunger Year (WHY), whose mission is “advancing long-term solutions to hunger and poverty by supporting community-based organizations that empower individuals and build self-reliance.”

brucespringsteen

He may have been "Born in the U.S.A.," but Springsteen is, indeed, a citizen of the world.

In short, this is an exemplary profile for our potential “hero” for Spina Bifida to have! Since I only found a mailing address for him, and not an E-mail, I have written a letter but will have to wait until tomorrow to send it (it’s Sunday!). Plus, my computer is in rehab, and so all I have is my little Acer laptop (“Tiny Tim”), and I have no clue how to hook him up to my printer. (Will anybody heed my call for a geek?)

But, enough of my technological woes. I have to get up early tomorrow, as I am accompanying Mom while she works at Valencia tomorrow (my former alma mater). They have very competent computers and printers, plus, I have to study for my two exams on Tuesday! (You may want to start a prayer chain for me!)   😉

Thanks, and I love you all,

Laurita ♥

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 22- Bruce Springsteen

  1. Billy

    I will absolutely keep you in my thoughts throughout the day. Good luck tomorrow!

  2. Diane Ederer

    I really like your website! I also have SB/Hydrocephalus, arrested in infancy/no shunt/use a wheelchair full-time. I just had to share my Bruce Springsteen story with you.

    My favorite song of all time is “Born to Run”. I even had a t-shirt made up that says, “I was Born to Run, but oh, well…”( I wear it at every concert). One night after a concert of his in Las Vegas, I went to the back stage area. I hung out for about an hour or so. I told one of the security guards I was waiting for Bruce and he told me that he would nod if Bruce was coming. I waited a little while longer out by the limousine and the guard nodded and Bruce came out with Patti (his wife and fellow ESB member along with Soozie Tyrell). I called to Bruce and he came over to me. I told him, “Hi, Bruce, I’ve been waiting over 20 years to flash you my t-shirt!”. He had this “deer in the headlight look”. I’m sure he didn’t know how to take it at first. But I immediately told him, “It’s ok Bruce, you can laugh. It’s a joke!” Well he loosened up and gave me a hug, a kiss, a handshake and an autograph! He called over to Patti and Soozie and told them “You’ve gotta come here and see her shirt!”.

    So they both came over and both of them got a kick out of my shirt. Needless to say, I could have walked home that night!
    This happened about five years ago. Do you think he remembers me?! I wonder if he meets many women in wheelchairs with a t-shirt like that?

    • Laura

      Hi Diane!

      Wow, what an AMAZING story! That’s so awesome that you got to meet him, and that the message on your T-shirt actually worked to “break the ice” with Bruce. He must be a wonderful person. Let’s hope he responds!

      I wanted to address the whole awkwardness issue that people often have with wheelchair users. I use my wheelchair part-time, mostly when I’m at college or at a mall or some other place where I usually walk long distances.

      Very often, when I’m at college, people who either know me or not will see me getting up to get a napkin or something, and they’ll say, “I didn’t know you could walk!” What’s funny is, it often comes off as an accusation that I didn’t warn them that I would be miraculously getting up and walking in front of them. I usually, shrug my shoulders, smile, and say, “Well, yes, I do” or something like that.

      But the point is that, like you did with Bruce, I find myself having to break the ice with people somehow. I confess that I don’t always deal with these comments very well. I feel like I’m put on the spot. I think it goes back to the idea that many people have these expressions and actions that let you know if they feel sorry for you– and that’s not usually what we want. We don’t want to be taken dead-seriously all of the time. So, thanks for sharing your story!

      I do realize you were probably expecting a reply, and not a self-psychoanalysis.

      Hugs,
      🙂 Laura

Leave a Reply

