Day 23- Robin Williams

Media_httpwillyoubemy_adugf

Gooooood Morning, Vietnam!!!!! Actually, it’s “good evening,” I know. I can say with all honesty that I have spent the day studying and doing things that are conducive to my goals (including the one that this blog will fulfill!) Reaching out to people in the spina bifida community continues to be one of my ultimate priorities, so if you know anyone with SB or in the SB community (friends, relatives, doctors, nurses, etc.), please refer them to this Web site. I want to hear everyone’s reactions to what we’re doing here!

But, now I really have to get down to business, as I have those two exams at UCF tomorrow that I told you all about! I wrote a hard-copy letter to actor and comedian Robin Williams. His career has been truly legendary, as he started out young in the role of alien “Mork from Ork” in the series “Mork and Mindy.” (I used to watch it when I was a little kid!)

His most acclaimed roles include the title role in “Mrs. Doubtfire,” a teacher in “Dead Poets Society,” and (my personal favorite!) the title role in “Patch Adams.”

Like his real-life character “Patch,” he enjoys extending a helping hand to those in need. Along with his former wife Marsha Garces, he formed a foundation called the Windfall Foundation, which cooperates with other non-profits such as Make-A-Wish Foundation, The Pediatric AIDS Association, and Médecins Sans Frontières (“Doctors Without Borders).

Other causes of his include the Christopher Reeve Foundation (he and Reeve were good friends) and Augie’s Quest, the branch of the MDA (Muscular Dystrophy Association) which seeks to find a cure for ALS (also known as “Lou Gehrig’s Disease”).

So, evidently, the man who has brought us so many years of laughter, also aims to bring hope to humanity on different levels.

Let’s hope he responds to our plea.

Till tomorrow then, my loves. It’s cram for exam time!

 

Hugs,

Laurita  šŸ˜‰

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized