Day 26- Tom Hanks

My computer came back from the hospital today, but it still won’t connect to the Internet, so I’m relying on Old Faithful here in the family room! It’s almost midnight, so I want to go ahead and post A.S.A.P. so that it will count for today (Thursday).

I wrote a letter to Tom Hanks. Hardly any introduction is necessary. His career took off in his early adult years, and it has not lost momentum since. Also, his film characters transcend every genre imaginable.

Media_httpwillyoubemy_jgopb

When he's not chasing personified volleyballs into the ocean, Tom Hanks is a kind, charitable guy!

The “Forrest Gump” (one of my all-time favorite films!) star may not be as naive as his character, but he certainly possess the same big heart. I was blown away when I read, among the expansive list of charities Hanks supports, that he has also helped the “Hole-in-the-Wall” Gang camps. As a child, I attended Camp Boggy Creek, in Eustis, Florida, for many years. It truly changed my perspective on living with a chronic condition.

Besides the camps, Hanks has also supported the Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation, as well as the Pearl Harbor Memorial Fund. But indeed, what made my night was finding out about the camps. It just goes to show that: “Life is a box of chocolates…you never know which one you’re gonna get.”

God Bless,

Laurita 😉 

zzzzzzzzzz……..

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 26- Tom Hanks

  1. Leigh

    hey Laura- I just wanted to say that what you are doing is fantastic! I have a 7.5 month old son with spina bifida and I love that you are raising awareness! There are actually a group of moms (all with kids who have SB) that just sent out a letter to Oprah and Ellen. We’ll see what happens!! 🙂 Anyway, keep up the great work!

  2. Laura

    Hi Leigh! I’m so glad that your searches brought you to my blog. I really appreciate your comment. I was wondering if you could fill me in on the details of the letter(s) that you all sent to Oprah and Ellen. I have tried contacting both of them, but no replies as of yet. Early on in my blog, I wrote to Oprah for the third time in my life (yes THIRD!) I also contacted Ellen early on, as well. Let’s keep fighting the good fight! Hugs, Laurita 😉

  3. Leigh

    Hi Laura! Here is the link to our letter and also a link to our little mama (and 2 dads) group. :)http://community.babycenter.com/post/a15666805/oprah_letter-_can_we_make_this…http://community.babycenter.com/groups/a3825/spina_bifida_kidsThe first link is the letter, the second is to our group. I saw that Colleen and Erika both commented, they are from the group as well. 🙂 You really have been an inspiration to us all. Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

