Day 27- Dr. Sanjay Gupta

I’ve had kind of a slow, depressing day. In spite of that, I got a considerable amount of work done. I E-mailed a few of my former professors, in the hopes that they’ll spread the word.

In truth, it has been a roller coaster of emotions. A few weeks ago, I had been referred by my primary care doctor to a hematologist. I really didn’t mention it, because I was  informed that it was just procedure– my white blood cell count was too low. The hematologist reassured me by saying he was certain it wasn’t leukemia or anything like that, which, understandably, had been my biggest concern.

Today, I got a call from the hematologist’s office again, and the receptionist told me that the doctor wanted to refer me to a rheumatologist. She didn’t quite say it right away, so I was really frustrated. According to my bloodwork, I might have rheumatoid arthritis. Of course, now I began to panic. What’s worse, as if to reaffirm my concern, my wrist has been hurting me all day!

I don’t know that this has anything at all to do with spina bifida. I just thought I’d share it with you.

On a much lighter note, I have been communicating with Telemundo’s Senior Photo Reporter and News Producer, Donaldo Gonzalez, who spoke with the News Director of the station. This Tuesday, they will go to UCF Main Campus to tape me for a brief segment called “Triunfadores,” or “Winners,” probably, in English. I mentioned the blog to them, and they were interested!

Also, the same day I went to the forum at Valencia, I was invited by two correctional officers in Kissimmee to attend a Hispanic Heritage event in October. They would like for me to speak to the attendees about my cause! Really, they pretty much gave me carte blanche to talk as long as I want, and so I am especially grateful for this opportunity.

Well, now it’s down to business! I wrote to Dr. Sanjay Gupta through his program’s Web site. “House Call” airs on CNN on Saturday and Sunday from 7:30-8 a.m.

Dr. Gupta is a neurosurgeon and holds the position of CNN’s chief medical correspondent. He is also a special correspondent for CBS, as well as a columnist for Time Magazine.

His skills are so widely recognized that Pres. Obama actually offered Gupta the position as Surgeon General, but Gupta declined.

As far as a potential “hero” for spina bifida goes, Dr. Gupta would be an excellent spokesperson, as he knows more about the condition as a neurosurgeon than perhaps any other figure of his prestige.

Well, that’s it for tonight. Oh yeah– I forgot to mention something. The letter I wrote to First Lady Michelle Obama is going to be hand-delivered by Juan Sepulveda, director of the White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for Hispanic Americans. That means, there is no doubt she will read it!

So…yeah. Sorry for writing longer than usual, but there was a lot of news to share with you. As always, I would love to hear from you!

 

Media_httpwillyoubemy_azkay

Need a hero? The doctor is in!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 27- Dr. Sanjay Gupta

  1. Colleen

    I really like what you’re doing! I think you’re going to make a real difference in Spina Bifida awareness! As the mother of a 3 year old who has SB, I thank you!

  2. Laura

    Hi Colleen! Thanks so much for reaching out to me. I’m absolutely thrilled that there are mothers out there who are benefiting from the musings of a 22-year old, he he. I really do hope that people find this blog inspiring, and that, underneath the exterior of being a girl with SB, I am, at heart, just a girl. 🙂 God Bless! Laurita 😉

  3. Dawn

    You are doing so great! Don’t stress about the RA. A lot of people have it. Yes, even young ones. I was diagnosed with it at 16 years of age. As you can tell, it hasn’t stopped me!

Leave a Reply

