Day 28- Queen Latifah

A rapper-turned-actress, this majesty is clearly comfortable in her own skin.

A rapper-turned-actress, this "majesty" is clearly comfortable in her own skin.

Those who listen to rap music may probably be familiar with Queen Latifah’s edgier side. Movie buffs are more in touch with her self-deprecating sense of humor. And, if you’re a woman who appreciates her makeup, you definitely recognize her as a Cover Girl. But, this queen doesn’t just get– she gives. Her mother, Rita Owens, founded a charity in memory of Latifah’s brother, who was killed in a motorcycle accident. The Lancelot H. Owens Scholarship Foundation, Inc., provides scholarships to great students who are suffering financial hardships.

The star of such films as  “Bringing Down the House” and “Last Holiday” is also very much admired for encouraging women to view themselves in a positive light. She embraces her curves! In fact, she has recently become a spokesperson for Jenny Craig.

So, I Facebook messaged this possible hero– at least, I think I did! There were several different Facebook pages, so I really wasn’t sure. I friend requested them all, and sent messages to each, as well. (There’s nothing I hate more than a “poser!”)

But enough about that. I went to Best Buy again today with Mom, and the geeks finally fixed our computer! So, I’m back in my room/office with all the add-ons I could possibly want. I don’t think I’ve been this happy in a very long time. I seriously have taken technology far too much for granted!

I want to take a moment to give a shout-out to all the awesome moms whose kids have spina bifida! Several of them have reached out to me this weekend, and I want to thank them for lifting me up out of what was shaping up to be a bout of depression. Sometimes it’s excruciatingly difficult to share so much of myself with all of you, but these wonderful ladies remind me what this blog was all about to begin with– hope. And the stars seem to be aligning in my favor so far, so that must mean that I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing. May God Bless you all for making me realize that.

Please check back for updates as I add to the new “SB Resources” page, and I will also be picking my parents’ brains for another chapter of “My Personal History” really soon! Also, I will definitely update you all after the taping of the brief Telemundo segment, “Triunfadores,” on Tuesday! Wish me luck!

E-mail me if you have any questions, concerns, or suggestions!

I love you all,

♥ Laurita

P.S. I am “retracing” some of these celebs and backing up my E-mails with standard letters. I feel that these people are so inundated by E-mails, that perhaps they would respond more eagerly to someone who takes the time to send them snail mail. Just a quick note to let you know.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

