Day 31- Martha Stewart

Media_httpwillyoubemy_yxjck

The domestic mogul also multitasks for a number of charities.

She’s every man’s dream in the kitchen, and every woman’s nightmare as the ultimate model of housekeeping each knows she will never live up to! Seriously, is there anything Martha Stewart cannot do? Everything from gardening to gourmet food to pet costumes (you think I’m kidding? Check the Web site!)

But, no matter how many hats she wears, it is clear that one of her favorites is her philanthropist hat. Martha has contributed to a variety of noble causes, including Dogs Deserve Better, Five & Alive, and the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. Her advocacy work runs the gamut of everything from multicultural to multi-species!

I E-mailed “The Martha Stewart Show” through its Web site, and hopefully made a good petition to be on the show and promote the blog. I think it is crucial to keep contacting people who have talk shows, as this seems to be a good public relations vehicle for any cause (or any gimmick, for that matter!).

But, I know that, if you’re like me, you’re just dying to find out how my taping of the Telemundo “Triunfadores” segment went today! Let me just say that, as late as I went to bed last night after blogging (1:20 a.m.!), the morning still didn’t seem to arrive fast enough. I was too excited!

This morning, I took the shuttle from Rosen College to UCF, but I still arrived earlier than expected. I had time to worry and mull over what I was going to say, and stress about how I was going to say it. Finally, the two-man team arrived (reporter Homán Machuca and  photographer/news producer Donaldo González). They took a few shots of me rolling my wheelchair and talking to Homán about my experiences. There wasn’t a lot of time, because I had class at 10:30, but they walked me to class and set up in my classroom (for my Electronic Media & New Technology class– oh, the irony!). They taped me in class, and I swear you couldn’t ask me what my professor went on about for the first 15 minutes that they were there! After class got out, I was interviewed. I was asked about my early life, like when I moved here (in 1988). Homán asked me if I ever feel “limited.” My answer to that was that I do, sometimes, but it’s mostly due to the perceptions that other people have about me. If everybody knew what I am capable of, there would be no such thing as an inferiority complex for me!

These gentlemen were awesome, and they told me that they would be sending me the video (some type of multimedia file, I presume) so that I can post it on here! I am not yet sure when the segment will air, because they’d like to talk to Mom and Dad, as well, and they’ll contact me to coordinate with them. But, rest assured that as soon as I know when it will air, and as soon as I have the video, I will share it with all of you! I simply cannot wait.

For some reason, my excitement over the Telemundo segment seemed to be somewhat overshadowed by a deep depression that hit me later in the day. You will soon understand that I am not all happy-go-lucky, and that there is a part of me that I make every effort to keep hidden that is quite insecure. A lot of that probably stems from the realization that I am suddenly getting all this attention because I am not what is considered normal. I am a human-interest story, in the flesh. I am the muse for comments such as “It’s a miracle that you are able to do that!” or “Does it hurt when you walk?” Sometimes, but only when I am in a good mood, these remarks make me feel blessed. But there are other times when it just makes me feel as if God had some defective human parts lying around, and used them to create me.

Also, I had no idea just how emotionally exhausting it would be to write about things that are so personal to me. There are days when I feel completely drained. But, that is when I need your feedback the most, because your inspirational stories actually serve to remind me that I am not alone in this, and that I am most definitely not abnormal, by any stretch of the imagination. I’ll just keep on telling myself that.

Blessings and good night,

Laurita  πŸ™‚

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Day 31- Martha Stewart

  1. Paola

    Laurita,Never give up! Remember that song “Smile?” I’ve don’t remember who originally sang it but whenever you feel down, listen to it and do what it says… SMILE πŸ™‚

  2. Tnelson

    Hey, great blog…but I don’t understand how to add your site in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please πŸ™‚

  3. Wenchie

    “SMILE” was a Charlie Chaplin song….My favorite artist to sing it though was Nat King Cole… πŸ™‚

  4. Laura

    Hi there! To be honest, I wish I knew exactly what an rss reader is. I mean, I get that it’s something to use to be able to get my “feeds,” but I’m kind of new at this. I will try to find out, though! Thanks for reading. Laura πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

