News Flash!

One of my faithful followers, “Wenchie,” has shared that my blog was picked up by DarynKagan.com. Daryn is Bill Hemmer’s former co-anchor from CNN, and she launched her Web site in 2006 as “an inspirational online community that features a daily Web cast of stories that, ‘Show the World What is Possible.'”

I believe I mentioned that I had the chance to meet her, as well, the day I first met Bill Hemmer. She was substituting Soledad O’Brien as Bill’s co-anchor on “American Morning” when Soledad gave birth to her twins. I didn’t get to spend a lot of time with her, and I believe that it was Daryn’s selflessness that made her kind of stand off to the side and allow me to have my special moment with Bill. That’s just the sort of person she is!

Here’s the direct link to the blog she writes for her site. The entry about Bill, my blog, and Daryn’s close comradeship with Bill was posted this morning. Check it out when you can:

http://www.darynkagan.com/darynsblog.html

Well, I must leave you all for now. I will add that I missed out on my classes today (I know– stay in school, kids!) because of the thunderous stomach ailment that started late last night. As always, please stay tuned for a new entry for “Day 33.” Also, I wanted to share that, starting today in October, it is officially “Spina Bifida Awareness Month!” What a perfect time to be disseminating information about the impact spina bifida continues to have on so  many lives, especially in the midst of the healthcare debate.

This is the month to be asking questions, distributing flyers and brochures about spina bifida, and even setting up tables at schools, colleges, public health centers, and any other “free speech area” that you can find. Let’s take advantage of the entire month, from now through Halloween, to share stories and statistics with others.

You may come to find that often, in stark contrast to the ghouls and goblins that are sure to decorate the season, spina bifida can be considerably “scarier” to those of us who are still coping with the challenges that are unique to us.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “News Flash!

  1. Nick Phillips

    Yes we need to plan awareness events local and national “ride for a cure” type of things.

  2. Wenchie

    Here is hoping this evening finds you feeling better. 🙂

  3. Laura

    Thanks, Wenchie! I do feel a lot better now. FYI…I really like how Michael Bublé sang “Smile.” Laurita 🙂

Leave a Reply

