Day 34- Bonnie Hunt

I want to make it very clear that I do not have ESP. I had no clue at the time that I wrote to Ellen DeGeneres, that she was going to replace Paula Abdul as a judge on “American Idol.” She announced the news about two days later! Then, when I wrote to Queen Latifah, she announced shortly afterward that she will have her own talk-show! Finally, there was the unfortunate circumstance that we found out about only yesterday, of the extortion plot against David Letterman which forced him to reveal his relations with several of his employees. You must be seriously wondering, “Where do you get all of your information?” “Do you have a mole working in showbiz?”

The answer is no to all. It is pure serendipity (and perhaps bad karma with the Letterman thing!) that has caused these events to happen so sequentially. But, I honestly won’t hold that against him. That’s his personal life, and it does not take away from the genuine charitable efforts that he has pursued. And, he has managed to make some noble friends along the way. One of these is actress Bonnie Hunt.

This former nurse gives me a good feeling that she will relate to us and our cause!

This former nurse gives me a good feeling that she will relate to us and our cause!

Best-known for her roles in such films as “Jerry Maguire,” “The Green Mile,” and “Jumanji,” Ms. Hunt is now the host of her own talk show, “The Bonnie Hunt Show,” which airs on weekdays (check your local listings, people!) Before knowing anything at all about her, I have to admit that I have always liked her. She comes off as frank, unassuming and warm. So, it should come as little surprise that she worked as an oncology nurse at Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago, back in ’82!

Nowadays, Hunt is a supporter of the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University. I sent an E-mail to her show for the “Tell us your amazing story” section. This journey through blogging has already proven to be quite an amazing story! I can honestly say that this was the most heartfelt and detailed plea I have made on behalf of the spina bifida cause so far.

You may recall that, for the past two days, I have been having stomach issues. Well, I had just had dinner at Olive Garden with Mom when I started feeling excessively full. Abnormally full. (I didn’t even eat that much!) Mom decided to make a quick stop for some groceries (and OTC stomach remedies!), and right in the middle of Wal-Mart, my bowels betrayed me. We made a mad dash home, and then I had a major emotional breakdown. I went through all the clichés of cursing spina bifida, and asking God “Why me?” I sobbed. I whimpered. I felt humiliated, powerless, and hopeless. God Bless Mom– she is always there for me. (So is Dad, except he physically wasn’t there at the time!) She listened and wept with me. Guys, I’m not kidding when I say that spina bifida really is a “pain in the ass!”  🙂

After my catharsis, I sat at my computer with every intention of getting my blog done early, except that I found I had a quiz and an assignment due online before midnight!  So, once again, it’s almost 1 a.m., and I haven’t posted. But, I did make an important phone call earlier today (which is technically yesterday!). I called Rosie Wilder, the Wish Director for New Hope for Kids, and let her know what I’ve been doing. Since New Hope for Kids grants wishes to all children with spina bifida who live in the areas served, I asked her to share my blog with the spina bifida families that she has worked with. She really is an amazing woman! My family considers her a “fairy godmother.” And truly, the relationship forged  between Bill Hemmer and me, and all that it has led to (and will lead to!) is nothing short of a miracle.

So, I will sign off before I fall asleep on the keyboard! It’s been an exhausting day, to say the least.

OCTOBER IS SPINA BIFIDA AWARENESS MONTH. PASS IT ON!

Have a great weekend, and, God willing, we’ll pick up from here tomorrow!

Buenas Noches,

Laurita  😉

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 34- Bonnie Hunt

  1. Wenchie

    Love Bonnie in “Cheaper by the Dozen”. (I still think the orignal was better though, but Im a sucker for old movies)

    And this is coming from someone who enjoyed Beethoven, RainMan, Jerry M., etc..

Leave a Reply

