Day 35- Taylor Swift

OCTOBER IS SPINA BIFIDA AWARENESS MONTH.

Today started out pretty slow, with little readership. I felt very discouraged. But, I’ve found that whenever I’m about to throw in the towel on my ambitions, I am pulled back from the brink of quitting by God…and, I get by with a little help from my friends! On this particular day, that help came from Renata Toledo. She is perhaps my oldest friend, as we’ve known each other since the third grade. We have been through a lot together, but today she was able to help me out by offering me a very valuable tip. A friend of hers actually had contact information for country star Taylor Swift, and she let me know about it. She also put me in direct contact with her! So, I made my little “sales pitch” to Taylor. (Yes, I know I’m not actually “selling” something!) It’s kind of funny how something that you are so passionate about eventually turns into a broken record; a series of repeated diatribes that even I dread to get into.

But then, I hear from one of you guys! Probably the most dreadful part of it is my lifelong fear of rejection. I fear that, once I’ve gone through all the trouble of reciting the statistics and explaining what I’m doing, that they’ll be blunt and say “No!” But I don’t think that will be the case with Taylor Swift. On Sept. 13, the 19-year-old became the first country music singer to win an MTV Video Music Award when she won the “Best Female Video” category for her hit, “You Belong With Me.” (I’m not going to get into the whole incident at the VMAs!) Also, the blonde beauty writes her own music. She enjoys writing about the people in her life.

But, as far as I’m concerned, those are by far not her best qualities. As a young artist and celebrity who is continuously evolving, Taylor has also been actively involved in various charities. In 2007, she launched a campaign to help protect children from online predators. She has also cooperated with other noble causes, such as Family Health International, the Red Cross, and Victory Junction Gang, a partner of Paul Newman’s Hole-in-the-Wall Gang Camps for chronically ill children. (I was a Camp Boggy Creek kid for many years!) Clearly, while in the midst of her rapidly escalating fame, Swift has not wasted any time basking in the limelight. Rather, she is using her publicity to raise awareness and proceeds for some really great causes!

There's no question that Taylor's creativity in songwriting could raise awareness of spina bifida!

There's no question that Taylor's creativity in songwriting could raise awareness of spina bifida!

Well, I added a few things to the “SB Resources” page, so I hope that you all get the chance to check that out and take advantage of the resources for spina bifida and hydrocephalus that are available. If you have any tips or other ideas, or if you need to find a resource of some kind, please let me know. You can E-mail me at: laurita.tellado@gmail.com.

God Bless!

Laurita  😉

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 35- Taylor Swift

  1. Paola

    Great Choice! 🙂

  2. Hey, I am a huge fan…he’s my favorite actor. One of the greats…his movies will live on for ever. If anyone deserves an Oscar, it’s him…he’s cool

Leave a Reply

