Day 36- Stephen Colbert

OCTOBER IS SPINA BIFIDA AWARENESS MONTH.

Media_httpwillyoubemy_uuirb

Today I received some pretty encouraging E-mails from readers of this blog. The first was from Dawn, known as “Wenchie,” who has been kind enough to share the link with others who visit the online forums (more like shrines!) for Bill Hemmer. She offered some invaluable advice to me!

Another uplifting message came from Megan, who has a daughter with spina bifida. Thank you both for making yet another otherwise frustrating day more hopeful, especially in the wake of the latest disappointment: my letter to Bruce Springsteen was returned by the postal service.  ๐Ÿ˜ฆ   It feels like I’ve hit a dead end with that.

But, I will not give up or lose hope. There are plenty of celebrities out there who need– and want– a cause! I’d like to reiterate my request that anyone with bonafide contact information for any possible candidate please share it!

I wrote an E-mail and copied several producers, executives, directors, assistants (you name it!) for Comedy Central, in hopes of reaching both Stephen Colbert and Jon Stewart. Today I will tell you all about Stephen Colbert. He is best known as a political satirist for portraying a very extremist, right-wing political pundit.

The real Stephen Colbert is actually much more balanced– both politically and mentally. And, he maintains his strong faith and family values. Colbert has also been an avid supporter of some genuinely noble causes, such as Autism Speaks, Save the Children, Comic Relief, and the Global Fund for Women.

But, closest to my heart is the event he took part in last November, at the Annual Roast for Spina Bifida, a fundraiser held in Washington, D.C. where the politicians get to roast a member of the media. This tradition was begun by Judy Woodruff (refer to “Day 1”) twenty years ago, and Colbert served as the roastee this time. Leave it to him to find a hilarious, self-deprecating way to raise money for charity!

Well, I must leave you all for now. I have to wash my hair, and there are still a few E-mails on the to-do list!

I really do love getting feedback from you guys. You all are the absolute best! E-mail at:  laurita.tellado@gmail.com. Keep sending ideas and questions my way!

Love,

Laurita  ♥

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized