Day 37- Jon Stewart

OCTOBER IS SPINA BIFIDA AWARENESS MONTH.

Media_httpwillyoubemy_jqeik

Since I E-mailed several execs and producers at Comedy Central yesterday, the people who run both Stephen Colbert’s and Jon Stewart’s shows, I decided it was only fair that Jon get his own day! (I’d like to think he would get very jealous and resentful.)

As a political satirist, I imagine it’s difficult for him to be taken seriously. But, in addition to his funny bone, Stewart has shown himself to have a good heart. In 2008, Stewart appeared on Stephen Colbert’s Christmas special for charity, “A Colbert Christmas: The Greatest Gift of All,” which benefited Feeding America. Stewart has also supported a host of other benevolent causes, such as Autism Speaks, Comic Relief, and the Parkingsong Foundation. Also, this “stand-up guy” has participated in Stand Up to Cancer!

So, while his tongue is often in his cheek, his heart is always in the right place.

I wanted to give another shout-out to Megan for her E-mail. I don’t mind at all answering your questions. To the contrary, you gave me the idea to create an “FAQ” page. So, it will take me a little bit of time, but it’s coming soon, and I’ll make sure to answer your questions to the best of my knowledge.

Also, I want to point out that each case of spina bifida is different, and mine may or may not be representative of the SB population. But I will try to offer my own personal perspective as best I can and hope that many of you will benefit from knowing more or less what to expect. (For those of you that understand, I’m an L-5.)

Thanks also to Nick Phillips for his wonderful and insightful letter! It was very encouraging for me to read the musings of someone who’s been there, too.

I am very fortunate and blessed to have all of you supporting me! I hope I can, in some way, return the favor. I will sign off for now, since tomorrow is another day at UCF. Go Knights!

May God Bless you all,

Laurita ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized