Day 39- John Mellencamp

OCTOBER IS SPINA BIFIDA AWARENESS MONTH.

In case you’re wondering, yes…I think I actually have developed another chronic condition- bedtime tardiness. It’s really sad, because if I’m ever invited to do another T.V. interview, I don’t want to show up with bags under my eyes! So I’m setting another goal for myself- to finish this post early so that I can watch the second run of the Telemundo “Triunfadores” segment at 11 p.m.! It may be a bit narcissistic, I’ll admit, but how often do I actually get two whole minutes on cable television? It’s a day for the books, I’m sure. If you live in the area where Telemundo Orlando serves, please don’t miss the second “broadcast!” (I only put “broadcast” in quotes because I’m taking a modern media and technology class, and I know my professor will call me on it!)

I want to extend a very sincere and heartfelt THANK YOU to all the crew at Telemundo Orlando, especially Donaldo González and Homán Machuca. I had so much fun getting to work with you guys! Also, when Mom, Dad and I were asked to go to the studio yesterday for their interviews, I was received by the most warm and amicable team you could ever imagine! Everyone took the time to introduce themselves and make us feel welcome, and we got an exclusive tour of the place (even the kitchen!).

Media_httpwillyoubemy_gjnei

Now, down to business. (I have to be at UCF tomorrow, bright and early.) It’s been a long time coming, but I wrote a letter for singer/songwriter John “Cougar” Mellencamp, who was born with a mild form of spina bifida. In 2007, Mellencamp became the official spokesperson for the Winnipeg chapter of the Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus Association of Canada. Of course, as he is already the spokesperson for that organization, I wrote to him with the idea that he could just spread the word for our cause. Indeed, having his name tied to our initiative would be very beneficial!

Well, before I go to get ready for bed and the second airing of the segment, I will reiterate my gratitude towards everyone who watched it, and who will watch it again now! I will try to take advantage of the weekend in order to create an “FAQ” page. I’m starting to recognize a few patterns in the line of thinking of families who deal with spina bifida. They’re, of course, the same doubts that my family has had in the past. So, they are definitely worth looking into and discussing!

God’s Blessings to you all,

Laurita  ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized