Day 40- Seal

OCTOBER IS SPINA BIFIDA AWARENESS MONTH.

At last, Thusday has arrived again, and I can breathe (a little). Thanks again to everyone who watched the Telemundo “Triunfadores” segment last night! Like I said, they did an awesome job. I had so much fun working with them on this.

Once again, I am posting late, because I was doing homework! (Blame it on UCF.) But I enjoyed my advertising and new media classes today. I get to discuss and dissect ad nauseam topics that are very relevant to today’s fast-paced and often cynical society. As usual, by the end of the day, I am tired and just want to get home. I had an interesting conversation during lunch today with a friend of mine, and a friend of his. (Yes, I actually sat down and had lunch with other humans! I usually eat alone if I don’t know anyone in the Student Union.) We were discussing what were, to us, the most difficult aspects of having spina bifida. (My friend John has it, too.) Sure enough, we mentioned a lot of the pet peeves I’ve shared with you on a regular basis– people persistently offering to help when we don’t need it, and being perceived as somehow unable to go to college and be self-sufficient. Talking to John and sharing his views, and finding that we shared many of the same gripes, was a much-needed break from the proud façade I too often wear in the mainstream crowd. I could just be myself– vulnerable, clumsy, spontaneous and dorky. A lot of people probably don’t realize just how key these social interactions are. Because I don’t live on campus, I don’t interact with my peers as often as I wish. But, rest assured– I have a darn good support system at home!

Media_httpwillyoubemy_otyfq

I’m writing a letter to singer Seal, who is also known as Mr. Heidi Klum. The supermodel’s husband and soul crooner has been involved in various good causes, including Musicians on Call, the Foundation for Hospices in Sub-Saharan Africa, and the Somaly Mam Foundation, which strives to end sex slavery and human trafficking. So, perhaps he might be interested in my humble efforts– who knows?

Please let me know if there is anything that you would like me to add to the SB Resources page. Hopefully, I’ll get started on the FAQs this weekend, so that you can have somewhat of a one-stop-shop for information. Also, if you have a story that would be relevant to the Spina Bifida, Hydrocephalus, or this community in general, please E-mail me! I would love to share it with others on my blog.

Also, ¡Felicidades, Tío Iván! My uncle Iván’s birthday was today. I’m so happy we were able to talk, even briefly. Te amo. ♥

One more shout-out goes to Sherri (is that how it’s spelled?), who called me from Washington State yesterday! It was great talking to you. I hope to stay in touch.

Well, that’s all for tonight, I guess.

Good-night, sleep tight, and if the bed-bugs bite…bite the suckers back!

;-)Love, Laurita

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized