Day 41- Pantene (Hear me out!)

OCTOBER IS SPINA BIFIDA AWARENESS MONTH.

Last night, I received a comment containing a wonderful suggestion from my longtime friend, Adam Perry! I’ve known Adam since late middle school/early high school, and he and I are self-proclaimed Phantom Phans (probably #1 and #2 in the world! Adam, you can have the #1 spot, okay? And a brief ADHD-like aside: did you hear about the sequel to the play? It’s coming in November 2010! Hint hint everyone: my birthday is November 16th!)

Anyway, back to Adam’s brilliant idea. He suggested that, in addition to attempting to contact high-profile figures, I should try to reach companies, as well. They can publicly endorse our cause and promote it well. He got the idea for writing to Pantene after viewing a video that moved him, and it really got to me, as well! I will include it in this entry for your benefit and entertainment. It is a Thai commercial. I have already sent an E-mail through the company Web site.

I have to tell you now about an interesting experience today. I had my appointment with the rheumatologist whom I was referred to by the hematologist, to whom I was referred by my new internal medicine doctor. He was Indian, in his 40s, very distinguished-looking. And, let me tell you, he was flaming! (I use that term in the kindest of ways.) The first thing I noticed about him was that he wasn’t wearing a white coat. In fact, he wasn’t wearing any scrubs, either. He had on a beige and khaki-striped coat, and underneath it, a red shirt with large squares on it, and a red, silk, flowered tie. His shoes were Italian-style and very pointy! (A perfect match with his Louis Vuitton wallet.) I liked about him that he got straight to the point. He kept reassuring in his thick accent, “Don’t worry too much, my dear. I’m sure it’s not rheumatoid arthritis or lupus.” (To which I thought, “Great!” because I hadn’t even considered lupus as a possibility!) Twice during his visit with me, he answered his cell phone. “Keep the rice,” he instructed the person on the other end. “I’ll take care of the lamb chops if you can’t” and something else about chicken.

The second time his phone rang, he kept repeating, “Yes, Marcus. Okay, Marcus.”

When he got up from his desk, he hit his knee very hard (ironic, that he works with joints!). Poor thing. Before I sat on the exam table, I had to wait for the nurse to vacate it! (Very unorthodox, these exam procedures.) As the door opened at one point, the Wedding March could be heard in the background of the office. (Do you feel like you’ve entered a Beatles’ song yet?)

Here’s the clincher: he kept saying “spina baifida.” By then, I could have been “ROFL”– “rolling on the floor laughing!” All this kind of made the visit worth my long wait and the $30 copay (not to mention my contribution of four tubes of blood). There were no lamb chops for me, but Mom and I were certainly treated to a show! The best part is that I front row tickets in two weeks’ time.Β  Really, in all seriousness, he and his nurse were the nicest people.

So, that has been my day in a nutshell. (Oh yeah– and I went to Dunkin’ Donuts. That is a whole different story. The service there was almost surreal in a bad way. But, I try to keep it positive here.)

So, without further ado, I am posting early.

Have a great evening, everybody!

πŸ˜‰ Laurita

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Day 41- Pantene (Hear me out!)

  1. Wenchie

    Love the corp. sponsor idea. Way to go Adam. πŸ™‚

  2. Nick Phillips

    Dove also does a similair campaign. It geared towards women and keeping a positive self image. It’s a messge that we can run with as well.

    • Laura

      Thanks, Nick! Glad to know that so many of you are bursting with ideas. It’s hard to think outside the box, and to think of 365 people to write to. So, any and all thoughts are truly appreciated.

      Hugs,

      Laura πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

