Telemundo “Triunfadores” on YouTube!

Hey everybody, I promised you guys to upload/share this as soon as I could get it. It appeared on the Telemundo Orlando Web site today, apparently, so I tried a million things to post it on Facebook and on here in its original form, but finally managed to upload it to YouTube.

That way, millions of viewers (let’s hope!) can share in our cause and hear/watch my story, which is merely one of the many examples of people with spina bifida who strive to make a difference in their communities.

Yes, the video is in Spanish, but in my opinion, the most telling elements are visual, so it’s probably not hard to follow. I basically talked about my frustrations with having a physical challenge (i.e., waiting for the handicapped stall when the person who is occupying it doesn’t need it), and how my parents have been such an inspiration to me to survive and thrive. Of course, when interviewed, my parents deflected, saying that it was all me! (I strongly disagree.) Obviously, I spoke of my campaign to raise awareness for spina bifida through my blog. After all, that is what landed me that opportunity in the first place. People were interested in this initiative that tries to make use of some of the latest technology.

Anyhow, without further ado, please watch the video– enjoy!

Love Always,

Laurita  ♥

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Telemundo “Triunfadores” on YouTube!

  1. Wenchie

    Ok…first off I dont speak Spanish so I am clueless as to what was said. 🙂 But I can well imagine it has to do with breaking down the stereo-types that the visuals of having a physical “disability” produce (especially when hardware, such as a chair, is present), as well as educating people about SP.

    That aside, it is obvious that you are a highly intelligent and articulate woman. That comes across clearly even if I didn’t understand a word of what you said. 🙂

    Great going. 🙂

  2. Wenchie

    (Ok…I admit I jumped to watching the video before reading your entire post Laura….Now that I read your post I can see I was close as to what was talked about. )

    • Laura

      LOL yes…pretty much! It’s difficult to provide a “literal” translation, so I just basically summed up the key points as best as I could. Thanks for viewing it, though! 🙂

  3. Your comment on my blog was so sweet! Thank you! & tell your mother I said “Hello” & “Thanks” as well!! lol! ;D
    & I know EXACTALLY what you mean, I don’t know you very well either but at the same time I feel like I’ve known you forever!! Ya know?!

    I have NO CLUE how you can bring me up on your blogroll.. I noticed the last time I visited your blog that your on a higher version than I am.. I’m using “WordPress 1.2.1” & I 4get what yours was, but I remember it being higher, so our “main editing page(s)” are probably different, know what I mean? If I figure out how tho I’ll DEF let ya know!

    Keep up the awesome work — as always, your blog is AMAZING & CAPTIVATING to say the least 🙂

    HUGSxo
    Andrea, Rowie, & Family

  4. OOPS! Nevermind! disregard the last part of my comment about the blogroll! I can see you figured it out! Thanks!!
    xo
    Andrea & Rowie (AGAIN! lol)

Leave a Reply

