Day 50- Universal Orlando

OCTOBER IS SPINA BIFIDA AWARENESS MONTH.

As you probably know from reading “My Personal History,” I moved here from Puerto Rico with my parents (at the age of two). Since then, my life has been in Orlando. So, mention Universal Studios to me, and an entire collage of memories comes to mind! During a two-year period, Mom and I had passes to both Universal and Islands of Adventure, and many blissful after-school afternoons were spent testing how many consecutive times I’d be allowed to ride E.T.

Universal Orlando supports a host of worthy causes, including Independent Living Advisory Council, which makes recommendations for foster children who will soon outgrow the system. The Universal Orlando Foundation has partnered with the Orange County Children’s Advocacy Center, which investigates and tries to prevent cases of child abuse and neglect.

The foundation also contributed $1 million to the Rosen College of Hospitality Management, and the library on the campus is named after Universal. And, Universal has partnered with organizations like Autism Society of Greater Orlando and Give Kids the World, to allow children with special needs and their families free admission to their theme parks.

Where movies come alive...and dreams, too!

Where movies come alive...and dreams, too!

Today I strolled the sidewalks of Winter Park with Paola. We had lunch at Panera, and had a very relaxing time. It was all very chill. Needless to say, it was much-needed. Never underestimate the power of girl-time, ladies! It is very empowering and rejuvenating– and I’m only 22!

In fact, the self-pampering mood has kind of stuck with me, so I’m listening to Pandora Radio; a little bit of everything, really:  the Beatles, Josh Groban, Elton John, Billy Joel, Michael Bublé, Coldplay (all of them being some of my favorite guys!) and some Christian tunes, as well.

So, that is what I have been up to. Please know that I have not been intentionally avoiding the creation of an FAQ page. It will come! I just need some real time to sit down and reflect on the answers to your questions. Please do keep reading. And pass it along to your family members and friends!

Have a great night,

Laurita ♥

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 50- Universal Orlando

  1. Nick P

    Sounds like you had a awesome day! Too many Seniors forget to cut loose! I’m workin on gettin Ellen! I haven’t forgotten my homework!

Leave a Reply

