Day 52- Matt Damon

Media_httpwillyoubemy_maaik

While others move molehills, Damon is trying to move mountains.

OCTOBER IS SPINA BIFIDA AWARENESS MONTH.

As I write this, I am very tired. I had a pretty productive day at UCF– meaning I did a lot of reading for class! And three other chapters await me, plus the ones I need to read for advertising. I have two exams next week! But enough of my trials as a whining college student. I just received an E-mail message from Fifth Third bank, stating that my E-mail was forwarded to the “appropriate department.” At least, it means somebody read it, and the reply was signed by a human, no less!

In the Sunday Orlando Sentinel, their “Parade” magazine featured a very inspiring piece written by Matt Damon. After reading it, writing to him today was a no-brainer! Damon tells of how, even when he would get a $5 weekly allowance, he would send part of it to one of the various charities his mother was involved with.

Today, it is evident that his early life lessons in philanthropy have stayed with him. Damon co-founded Water.org, “which focuses on water and sanitation,” he says. The organization provides loans to impoverished individuals so that they can connect their homes to a water source. These loans are paid back in full, he says, because these people now have the time to focus on making a living, rather than on “walking to the clean-water source.” Damon is also involved with another charity called ONEXONE, which focuses specifically on children, and the many areas in their lives that are affected by poverty, such as hunger, healthcare, education, etc.

In the past few years, Damon has traveled to many countries, including India, Haiti, and Tanzania, to witness the human living conditions for himself. And he dreams of making the trip someday with his family, when his kids are older. He writes, “I can’t think of any more important value to instill in our children than the desire to help others.” It made me reflect on a Bible verse I read several years ago that had lain dormant in my head (and my heart!) until now. I confess, it’s been a while, so I Googled it! It reads: “Blessed are they that hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.” – Matthew 5:6. If we all make an effort to help others in need, we will definitely be rewarded a thousand times over! I sincerely believe that.

Love & Blessings,

Laurita  šŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

