Day 53- Sears

OCTOBER IS SPINA BIFIDA AWARENESS MONTH.

I sincerely apologize for not being able to post early today, but to be honest, there are no regrets on my part. Today, I spent the day at Valencia, studying while Mom worked.  I felt surprisingly energized, but, by the end of the day, I knew I needed a nice break from the textbook grind! Fortunately, my friend Antonio called, and we went out for gelato and coffee. A much needed-break with an awesome friend.

From here on out, I propose to do everything in my power so as not to neglect my social life. I realize it is a very healthy and rejuvenating experience to sit with a friend and chat about everything, and about nothing. Reflecting on my evening, I can’t imagine anything better that I could have done with my time. After returning home, I watched part of CNN’s “Latino in America,” series, which I plan to tune into as often as possible. Even as a Latina with spina bifida and hydrocephalus, I feel very blessed to have the educational and social opportunities I have been offered.

Media_httpwillyoubemy_nsuhk

I decided to write a letter to Sears Holdings Corporation, especially since Ty Pennington (see “Day 49”) has an endorsement deal with them. Their Community Relations page shows that they have several philanthropic initiatives, including “Rebuilding Together,” which, through an all-volunteer rehabilitation organization, helps rebuild or repair homes of families lacking the resources to make these adjustments themselves. “Heroes at Home,” created in partnership with “Rebuilding Together,” provides these rebuilding services to military families, in order to make their homes safe and accessible.

After a very fulfilling day, I am happy to retreat to slumber. Hope you all continue having a great week!

Love,
Laurita ♥

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized