Day 54- Black Eyed Peas (The Peapod Foundation)

OCTOBER IS SPINA BIFIDA AWARENESS MONTH.

With a unique hip-hop sound and a collective drive for social impact, these hipsters groove to the beat of their own drums.

With a unique hip-hop sound and a collective drive for social impact, these hipsters groove to the beat of their own drums.

So far, it’s been a pretty good week, with just a few major moments of stress over my two upcoming tests– both next week! If I stick with it, and study hard this weekend, I will pass them both. I couldn’t resist watching “Latino in America,” though. There have been some pretty amazing stories told, and I am grateful that I have not been dealt the hardships that many of my fellow Hispanics have suffered.

I decided to contact the Black Eyed Peas, a four-member, hip-hop group that has had outstanding success. This year, they became one of only eleven artists to have simultaneously held the number one and number two spots on the Billboard Hot 100.

But the Peas are also adamant about giving back some of that success. In 2005, group member will.i.am founded The Peapod Foundation, with its mission statement being, “encouraging social change by uniting people through the universal language of music.” The foundation focuses on the multiple issues affecting children, such as shelter and housing, starvation, healthcare, education, poverty, music and artistic education. The organization is a fund that serves as part of the Entertainment Industry Foundation.

Through benefit concerts, the Black Eyed Peas, who are a true pop-culture phenomenon today, provide support to the different aspects of children’s lives. I’m hoping to send letters to the group itself, to will.i.am, and to their foundation. (If I find any more addresses, I’ll be sure to print more letters!)

Now the challenge will be trying to balance test cramming, blog-related business, and the occasional social interaction. (Because a girl has to come up for air every once in a while!)

I appreciate, as always, the support that you guys all give me. And…keep telling your friends. Who knows? This could potentially be the next grassroots movement that catches on.

My Love to you,

Laurita  😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment