Day 63- Serena Williams

Media_httpwillyoubemy_cmmbd

When she's not serving on the court, Serena's serving the community!

Happy Halloween, my peeps! It’s probably for the best that I didn’t dress up or go trick-or-treating tonight– I wouldn’t be doing this right now. So, instead of stuffing my painted face with candy in a sweltering costume, Mom and I went out for dinner at Bravo! Cucina Italiana, one of my favorite restaurants in the area. Earlier, we went to Church, where I did the reading. (It’s good practice for public speaking!)

I wrote a letter to tennis champion Serena Williams, of the famous Williams sisters. (Venus Williams is both her other half and her rival!) When exploring the Web site for Sophie’s Voice Foundation, I was surprised to learn that Serena is on the foundation’s board of directors! It’s really awesome news for me. If I could find more celebrities who are already involved with the spina bifida cause in some form or other, I think it would create a revolution, the likes of which have never been seen before! I have a newfound respect for Miss Williams. Serena has also been the recipient of the “Young Heroes Award” from Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater L.A. and Inland, as well as the “Family Circle and Prudential Financial Player Who Makes A Difference Award.”

In 2008, Williams helped fund the construction of the Serena Williams Secondary School in Kenya. And, she received the “Celebrity Role Model Award”  from the Avon Foundation for her efforts benefiting the breast cancer cause.

It seems Serena’s found her true passion in life, that is, serving others– on and off the court!

Well, faithful readers, you know I love you but I’m off to see if I can catch any teeth-grinding, nail-ripping, frightening flicks on cable. Don’t eat too much sugar– going to the dentist is no “small” fortune nowadays!

 

Love,

Laurita ♥

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 63- Serena Williams

  1. Nick P

    I never realized that Sophie’s Voice was for SB. Serena went on Ellen to promote it but I didn’t catch that it was for SB. I guess I do learn something new everyday! Yes I love Halloween! The dressing up and the horror flicks! The good old ones, Hitchcock and anything with Boris Karloff. Can’t forget the candy either!

  2. Laura

    Thanks for the tip…I had no idea she was on Ellen promoting this!

Leave a Reply

