Day 67- Nicolas Cage

NicolasCage

He may have stolen the Declaration of Independence, but he did it all for a good cause!

Kudos, once again, to my friend Nick, for inspiring me to write to “Nic.”

Say what? Well, I am writing to actor Nicolas Cage (who’s actually one of my favorites!) to ask him to generate awareness for spina bifida. A philanthropist at heart, Cage has been an avid supporter of Amnesty International, the Screen Actor’s Guild Foundation, The Art of Elysium, and Hillsides, which provides a safe haven for abused children in Southern California and advocates for their rights.

In 2008, Nicolas Cage and the rest of the cast of “National Treasure: Book of Secrets” extended a warm and friendly welcome to a family from Rockford, Michigan who was invited by Walt Disney Studios to attend the film’s star-studded, red carpet premiere. The family has a son with cerebral palsy, and a daughter who is a huge fan of the films.

This is the kind of story that leads me to believe that Nicolas would be a perfect fit for our cause! He seems to exude humility and benevolence.

But now, let’s move on to a few important announcements:

First off, I am very happy and excited to share with you that my friend, fellow Hispanic journalist Alsy Acevedo, has written an article that will be published in this Saturday’s El Sentinel, the Spanish-language weekly produced by Orlando Sentinel Publications. The article talks about how Latinos in Orlando are using the Internet. I won’t go into too much detail, because, after all, I’m not sure exactly how she wrote the article (what information she decided to include), but I will say that I had a very long phone conversation with Alsy last night, during which she interviewed me! I’m so thrilled to be able to get information about the blog out to a different medium. I’m truly grateful to God, and, of course, to Alsy, for the opportunity!

And, as if your brains (and mine!) could actually handle more good news, I received a reply on behalf of “Day 38”– that’s right, Mr. Gordon Ramsay! In spite of his notorious temperament on “Hell’s Kitchen,” I had a very good feeling about writing to him. I anticipate that many of you will want to pick my brain for exactly what was in the letter, and since my scanner isn’t working at the moment (ugggh!), what I did is I took a photo of it and uploaded it here! That way, you can read exactly what Mr. Ramsay’s Executive Assistant wrote me. (Before you get discouraged at the fact that he didn’t write it himself, please read the letter!)

Gordon Ramsay

Look closely-- see the autograph?

Finally, I have been announcing for some time now that I would be working on an “FAQ” page. Today I worked on it for a good while, and I’ve finally unveiled it! You will find the page if you click on the appropriate “FAQs” tab on my home page. I plan to update it often, so please send me your questions at:  laurita.tellado@gmail.com.

Well, I think we can all agree that our brains have reached the limit of information that can simultaneously be processed! I look forward to reading more of your E-mails as you continue reading, and please remember to join us on our new network on Ning: http://willyoubemyhero.ning.com/

Gordon's letter

I love his stationery!

Much Love,

♥ Laurita

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Day 67- Nicolas Cage

  1. Nick

    Wow! A REAL SIGNED LETTER that isn’t just a form letter I’m jealous! I didn’t know he was involved with SB! I knew Chef Ramsey has his own charity.

    See karma is on your side…. stress of exams last week … Spina Bifida awareness panning out this week. As well as you getting yourself known in you area…awesome work! Nice work on your FAQ very insightful and moving. It may have taken ‘a million years’ but it’s there now.

  2. Myrna

    Lauri, I’ve never commented on your blog before,I just want to tell you that I’m so proud of you for your commitment to this cause and your sacrifices(sleep deprivation,no TV or time to do much else).I should know because I’m there with you until I fall asleep but you stay up until you finish.Already a lot more people know about SB because of you.Carry on (Che)L.O.L. Love always ………Mami

  3. Amber

    This is great Laura! Keep up the good work!

  4. Cristina Fernández

    Laurita!!!!

    Congratulations!!!! Great job…Like I’ve been telling you since day 1, this is just the beginning.

    Big hug,
    Cristina

  5. Pingback: Day 310- Jon Turteltaub « Holdin' Out for a Hero

Leave a Reply

