Day 82- Newsweek

It’s a deep, dark fantasy of mine. In truth, I should think it’s every aspiring journalist’s fantasy: to have an essay published in Newsweek. I confess that I tried to submit an essay for their “My Turn” section, early last summer. Quite obviously, it was not published. I won’t go into all the gory details, but let’s just say that whatever I said in that essay, I’ve probably said it here, many times over! It was, of course, about my hope to generate awareness for spina bifida.

My dreams notwithstanding, I am still every bit as determined to share my story with this reputable magazine. Newsweek is one of the largest weekly magazines in the U.S., second only to Time.

Media_httpwillyoubemy_bcnff

I'm not trying to put any ideas into your heads or anything...

Launched in 1933, Newsweek was never one to dance around the important issues. Instead, they confront them, and then present them to their readers with a sort of in-your-face approach that is beginning to be seen in the more popular publications today. On every subject from foreign policy to nuclear war to media convergence, this magazine has both a say– and an attitude. It is this kind of approach– the “I’m challenging you to take a stance” approach– that you might say defines me.

This is what I want to share with the world. And with such noteworthy contributors as Michael Isikoff, Anna Quindlen, and Fareed Zakaria working for Newsweek, I daresay it would be one of my greatest accomplishments, were I to get their attention.

Suffice it to say that I hope to undertake a rigorous campaign with the major publications in the coming weeks, especially after mid-December, when classes will be over.

I’m going to have to sign off, just for now. There’s a seat at the midnight showing of “New Moon” with my name on it, so I have to get ready!

 

Love,

Laurita  šŸ˜‰

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

