Day 87- Shakira

Shakira's charity donated shoes to impoverished children in Colombia.

Porfavor visítanos en Facebook:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Holdin-Out-for-a-Hero/111667138865478#!/pages/Holdin-Out-for-a-Hero/111667138865478

When Colombian singer Shakira isn’t busy shaking it onstage, she’s busy shaking things up offstage! As a Goodwill Ambassador to UNICEF, Shakira has traveled to Bangladesh to visit education projects supported by UNICEF. She also joined Live Earth, a concert series to get people involved in the climate change cause. Shakira is a member of the ONE campaign to fight AIDS, and she has her own cause, as well– Pies Descalzos, or the Barefoot Foundation, which strives to enrich the lives of children displaced by turmoil in Colombia.

If you want to verify any of this information, just ask Shakira herself– I’m told her “hips don’t lie!” (Okay, I’ll admit, that was bad, even for me.)

Now, for a brief update on social media. As of today, I am using a new app on Twitter to further promote “Holdin’ Out for a Hero” and its mission to generate awareness about spina bifida. The app is called “act.ly,” and you can do several different things with it. I’m still learning, of course. One thing you can do is get people to “ReTweet” you, so that others know about your cause. You can also create “hashtags,” which are the “#” sign followed by a word. I made a hashtag:  #holdinoutforahero.  The point is to get several voices out to Tweet about your cause. If you have a Twitter account, please follow me at my username: @Laurita86. Please, do not create a Twitter account just because I suggested it if you have no desire to use it! There are plenty of ways to get the word out about this. But, if you do have Twitter, please follow me and remember my username and my hashtag.

Also, if you haven’t already, please check out the awesome video Telemundo Orlando taped of my story, and of “Holdin’ Out.” Spanish-speakers, este es para ustedes!

Y no se les olvide– ahora tenemos una página de Facebook para que se unan en solidaridad con las 166,000 personas que tienen espina bífida:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Holdin-Out-for-a-Hero/111667138865478#!/pages/Holdin-Out-for-a-Hero/111667138865478

Favor de compartir esto con todos los que conozcas!

Well, it’s been a long day (I had a new media and technology test earlier today!), so I think I’ll just hit the sack.

May God Bless you all, & HAPPY RETWEETING!

Laurita  😉

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 87- Shakira

  1. eu so fan numero 1 de shakira

    • Laura

      Sorry, this is NOT Shakira’s blog or the blog of any
      celebrity. I write to celebrities asking them to raise awareness of Spina Bifida. Please do not leave personal messages for celebrities on this blog.

Leave a Reply

