Day 91- Subaru

Every once in a while, I like to be able to give you a glimpse into my train of thought. I know I’ve fluctuated between writing to celebrities, and writing to companies. I wish I could say that there is a method to my madness, but the truth is, I often write to whoever inspires me at the moment. Right now, Subaru is running an inspiring promotion– buy or lease a new Subaru between now and Jan. 24, and $250 will be donated to one of five charities. You choose the charity, from the ASPCA (which helps animals), the National Wildlife Federation, Habitat for Humanity, Meals on Wheels, and Boys & Girls Clubs of America.

It seems this will be the season that keeps on giving! But, what you give, you also get in return with the satisfaction that you helped another cause.

Instead of "cash for clunkers," it's "cars for causes! Get yours today.

Here’s a little food for thought that I’d like to share. Some of you probably see me at this point as being one of the most cynical people in existence. So you might be wondering– why go to Church? Well, the fact of the matter is, I am a cynic, but not when it comes to God. I am a cynic when it comes to people. I know it sounds really harsh, but I guess I grew up without a lot of my peers around, and so I started to grow very cynical. But the single most important factor of my life, the common denominator that has remained constant, has been God. He has seen me through all my ups and downs, and continues to do so with grace and abundance. And yet, I am a cynic.

I am also an idealist. A cynic is essentially a person who started off as an idealist, but subsequently was let down by the cynics time and time again that he became a cynic himself, instead of doing the brave thing and standing his ground.

So, while I may lose faith in specific people who let me down, I never lose faith that there are, in fact, people who are just as idealistic as I am. To be completely honest, I’m usually happier when I’m playing the idealist than when I’m playing the cynic, the jaded, indifferent observer who knows-it-all. The thing is, at the end of the day, the idealist doesn’t give up if his dreams haven’t come true yet, because an idealist believes he’s already got all the time in the world.

And, yes, I am completely sober.

Telemundo “Triunfadores” video on YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pnqdmCBc7xA

 

Laurita 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

