Day 95- Macy’s…and Santa Claus

Yep…that’s right. For “Day 95,” I am writing to the jolly guy in a red suit! Before you denounce me as delusional, consider this. St. Nicholas is one of the most revered figures in our culture. Kids adore him, and adults can’t seem to shake off their early childhood memories of leaving milk and cookies, and peering at the fireplace, waiting for him to show.

Media_httpwillyoubemy_gxtgp

So, I thought, “Why not write to this paragon?” My reason was his widespread, international popularity. And, here’s another reason. Right now, Macy’s has a great promotion for the holidays. Write a letter to Santa and drop it in one of the mailboxes at participating Macy’s stores, and $1 will be donated to Make-A-Wish Foundation! Let me tell you, I think it’s worth it, even if you’re not going to ask him for something in particular. So, for each letter, Macy’s will donate $1, up to $1,000,000!

If you have kids, get them involved. Help them write Santa Claus a letter, and take it to your nearest Macy’s to drop it in one of those shiny, red mailboxes.

Now, I need to ask all of you for your help. Another related promotion of Macy’s is their “Tell Us Why You Believe” Contest. Entrants write a short blurb or submit a brief video explaining why they believe. I entered by writing (of course). Here’s where you come in: I need your votes! You can vote once each day until Dec. 11. The winner with the most votes gets a trip to the 2010 Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. I also included the link to my blog in my entry, and the mission of “Holdin’ Out for a Hero” for people with spina bifida. But, there’s something in it for you, too! Each time you vote, you will be entered to win a $500 Macy’s gift card! Please vote each day. Just go to:

http://social.macys.com/believe2009/

and click “Tell Us Why You Believe.” Then, on the right-hand side, click “All” to view all entries, and click the forward arrow until you reach one that’s titled “Holdin’ Out for a Hero.” Click on it to read my story.

I feel I must apologize for the very poor formatting of the text of my story. What happened was that I wrote it in Word Processor, and then I copied and pasted it into the form. I did this so I could keep track of the word count. I hope it’s legible enough for you all! 

On a different note, I received an E-mail yesterday from The Washington Post. On the down side, I think they completely missed the point of my blog– if they read it at all. They wrote, “I am very sorry to hear about your diagnosis.” But, although it started out like a sympathy card, they went on to say, “We have a ‘Living With’ column which allows readers/writers to tell their story. What better way to spread awareness of Spina Bifida than to write a personal testimony[?]” Well, they speak the truth. So, that is definitely something I anticipate working on in the coming weeks.

I also received a reply from Coca-Cola, saying “Although we agree that your cause is definitely important, we are concentrating on our current commitments.” So, I guess that’s it for Coke. (Oh, Santa Packs are coming soon!)

Please don’t hesitate to E-mail me if you have any questions, comments, or ideas:  laurita.tellado@gmail.com.

Thank you to all for continuing to make my Christmas– no, my lifelong— dream come true!

Love always,

Laurita ♥

Telemundo “Triunfadores” video on YouTube:

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized