Day 101- Elton John

Media_httpwillyoubemy_qbimc

The Rocket Man is a passionate AIDS activist and also encourages volunteerism.

Thanks to all of you who have been patient tonight, and who stayed up to read this entry! Seriously, please forgive my tardiness, but I had an afternoon of shopping with Mom, followed by dinner and dessert at one of my favorite haunts, Piccolo Gelato. I’ve made it my mission to try just about everything there at least once, and I have a feeling I’ll succeed! I always have a cappuccino– it’s my favorite drink. This time, Kelly, the owner, sprinkled some cocoa powder over it, and that did the trick!

I’m writing a letter to the amazing Sir Elton John, whom I absolutely love. His compassion for others seems to shine through, even while simply performing for a crowd. The legendary artist began the Elton John AIDS Foundation, with the mission to educate people about HIV/AIDS prevention, to support people at risk for or already living with AIDS, and to try to end the discrimination aimed at people with HIV or AIDS.

Sir Elton is also a patron of the organization Volunteering England, which, as mentioned on its Web site, “is the national volunteering development agency for England, committed to supporting, enabling and celebrating volunteering in all its diversity.” That is awesome, because, in a way, it takes care of a plethora of causes, and not just one. The idea of volunteerism itself should be praised and practiced in all countries.

In fact, Sir Elton John believes so strongly in his cause that he and his partner, David Furnish, tried to adopt an HIV-positive infant from Ukraine in September, but was allegedly denied the opportunity to adopt him because he is “too old and isn’t married.” (Ukraine does not recognize same-sex marriages.) Instead of boring you to death with my personal thoughts on the matter, let me just comment on how regrettable the situation must be for the child– about to be adopted by Sir Elton John, and then denied the chance! Oh, well, I hope whoever gets the kid in the end will be just as nurturing, if not more.

Before I sign off, I want to mention that I did, in fact, send a massive E-mail to the media outlets as promised– but some of the addresses for reporters are no longer valid, and I had plenty of E-mails that bounced back to me. Bummer. But, let’s keep the faith. I got several automated replies from people I E-mailed. Many of them are from the Washington Post. I will let you all know if and when anyone replies for real.

So, that’s the scoop for today. Again, I apologize for my tardiness. The Prime Outlets were pretty hard to resist! (And so was my late dinner!)

Please keep sending your ideas to: laurita.tellado@gmail.com, and I promise to reply as soon as I can!

Telemundo “Triunfadores” video on YouTube:

Love,

Laurita ♥

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 101- Elton John

  1. ELIZABETE OLIVEIRA

    GOSTO DE VOCE GOSTARIA QUE VOCE ENTRACE EM CONTATO COMIGO SOU BRASILEIRA

Leave a Reply

