Day 102- Whole Foods Market

Media_httpwillyoubemy_rlexj

Through microfinance loans, Whole Foods gives back to the very same communities that provide their products.

I must admit, I’m feeling pretty tired tonight. The insomnia I’ve developed over the past few weeks is finally starting to catch up with me. Nevertheless, life goes on.

I’m going to tell you about a company that is doing something truly innovative to make a difference. Whole Foods Market, Inc. contributes to great causes in two ways: 1) by way of its store donations; and 2) via the Whole Planet Foundation, which actually participates in “micro-lending” in rural communities in different parts of the world. Their mission is “to create economic partnerships with the poor in those developing-world countries that supply our stores with product.” That’s genuine innovation, if you ask me.

Whole Foods also encourages entrepreneurship in these countries, and provides these small loans mostly to women who are very poor. The microloans, typically amounts of $200 or less, don’t require collateral. I guess you could say that, by motivating these people to establish their businesses, they are not giving a “hand-out,” but rather a “hand-up.”

That’s something we could all use from time to time, right?

Please don’t forget that Dec. 11 (the day after tomorrow) is the last day to vote for my entry in Macy’s “Tell Us Why You Believe” contest:

http://social.macys.com/believe2009/#/tell-us-why-you-believe/343648

Well, I really do need to get some shut-eye now.

Telemundo “Triunfadores” video on YouTube:

Thanks to those of you who continue to offer me their moral support. I never forget about any of you!

Love,

Laurita ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

