Day 107- George Clooney

Clooney has proven to have heart, as well as brains and beauty.

I’ve been waiting for this moment for quite a while. Actually, I was waiting for the “perfect” moment to unleash this paragon, but then it dawned on me that there is no “imperfect” moment when it comes to actor and activist George Clooney.

Clooney, who most recently starred in “Up in the Air,” has not only achieved A-list status as an actor and director– he is notorious as an A-list activist.

So, all things considered, why not approach him and ask him to spread the word about spina bifida? I’ll admit, it wouldn’t be much of a sacrifice on my part. But, enough with my rambling. Here’s what makes George the perfect person to write to, in case I have to convince any of you.

Mr. Clooney is the founder of Not On Our Watch, along with friends Don Cheadle, Matt Damon, Brad Pitt, and producer Jerry Weintraub. The purpose of their joint effort is to stop the genocide in Sudan.

He is also a key contributor to Realizing the Dream, which hopes to make the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s vision of ending poverty and injustice a reality.

In 2007, Clooney and Cheadle were presented with the Summit Peace Award by the Nobel Peace Prize laureates, and in 2008, Clooney was named Messenger of Peace by the United Nations.

The list actually goes on and on, but I wanted to update you on my life, so that takes a little time. I am, of course, enjoying my new iPhone 3GS, but I am a little frustrated (okay, a lot frustrated) because I wanted to turn one of my songs into a ringtone, and I had many failed attempts today. I even bought the song on iTunes, even though I already had it, only to be informed that this particular song could not be converted into a ringtone! I spent most of the day cursing the iPhone ringtone that I have right now. (FYI– I officially hate marimbas!)

So, if anyone of you knows how I can overcome this emotional hurdle to create a ringtone, please let me know. I would be truly grateful.

Last night, since it was late and I was utterly distracted with my new toy, I failed to mention that the new phone was not the only treat I got yesterday. While at my aunt’s house, Mom asked me to answer the door when the doorbell rang. I glanced at her questioningly, because I was certain it was my cousin Kevin, who lives there (sorry Kev– not that you would have disappointed me!). I opened the door, and it was my cousin, Gabriel, who lives in Puerto Rico, and his mother, my aunt Elba.

Gaby is one of my closest friends. Actually, I’m pretty tight with all of my cousins. I marveled at the fact that I could receive a visit from him and an iPhone, all in one day. I’m a very lucky gal, ringtone dilemma notwithstanding.

Telemundo “Triunfadores” video on YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pnqdmCBc7xA


Love,

Laurita 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

