Day 110- Jim Carrey

Every dog has his day. And, every once in a while, a human does, too. Today is my day. After an agonizing two weeks (give or take a day or two), my grades for the fall semester at UCF have been posted– it’s two A’s and two B’s!

Call me an underachiever, but to me, those are awesome grades. After several semesters of seemingly languishing and moping, I feel that I finally pulled myself together for a purpose. Make no mistake– this blog has helped me a lot. Ever notice how, whenever you have absolutely nothing to do, you seem to get even less done? That’s exactly the way it is with me. But, being a full-time student this term, plus keeping a daily blog, not to mention letters and E-mails I have to write, managed to keep me on my toes.

Now, the next miracle for me will be to find the two electives I need to take this term! That seems to be Mission: Impossible, since students have apparently had since March to register.

The notorious funnyman has a serious, compassionate side.

Anyhow, I’ve decided to reach out to comedic actor Jim Carrey, who is one of my personal favorites! (I love him in “Liar Liar,” and “The Majestic,” which is actually one of his more serious roles.)

The “Bruce Almighty” star may have an overactive funny bone, but when it comes to helping people, this man is all heart. He is a supporter of Comic Relief, the National Veterans Foundation, and the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.

Additionally, Carrey is very active with his girlfriend Jenny McCarthy’s charity, Generation Rescue, which supports people with autism. (McCarthy’s son was diagnosed with autism.)

Carrey also participated in a telethon to raise money for the victims of 9/11, called America: A Tribute to Heroes , for which he donated $1 million.

Being in a light-hearted mood, I’m so glad I chose to write about someone who makes me smile every time I see him in a film!

Let’s continue in this mirthful holiday spirit, while we keep looking for heroes for the spina bifida cause!

Love,

Laurita 😉

Telemundo “Triunfadores” video on YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pnqdmCBc7xA

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

