Day 119- Antonio Banderas

For most people, December 26th, or the day after Christmas, is a real downer. The presents are all opened, and you’re left with the task of finishing off those once-so-appealing remnants of a holiday meal, which are now converted to sandwiches.

Fortunately for me, I get to celebrate a little while longer. My family and I spent the afternoon at a post-Christmas barbecue, not too far from where I’m staying, and fun was had by all. We ate to our hearts’ content, and I even played with the neighborhood dogs. (It’s so like me!)

The best part of being with my family is that I don’t feel like I have spina bifida all the time– I’m just me. I can be a dork, and they don’t care. (In fact, they embrace it! The dorkier, the better.)

Media_httpwillyoubemy_cnrxe

Argentina isn't crying for him-- and neither should you! Banderas is a gifted actor with a truly giving spirit.

While we’re still in the holiday spirit, let’s talk about another Latino with a cause, or two. Antonio Banderas is an actor, director, and producer hailing from Spain. The star of such hits as “Evita” and “The Mask of Zorro,” Banderas is involved with the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, and has appeared in their T.V. commercials, alongside other famous figures.

Banderas is also active with Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS, in which members of the theatre trade raise money for HIV/AIDS causes in the U.S.

I want to especially thank Jenn and Andrea for their Christmas greetings to me! They are doing amazing things for the hydrocephalus community, and their blogs, “Just Believe,” and “Rowan’s Development Story,” respectively, are an intimate portrait of life with a neurological disorder, and also of people stepping up to make positive changes in their communities. You can find these awesome blogs on my blogroll.

I’ll leave you now, to start getting ready for bed. I still have so much to see and to do on this trip!

Love,

Laurita  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

