Day 130- Kelly Ripa

How are you all doing tonight? It’s somewhat chilly in my house, at least, what I consider to be chilly. I’m still reeling from the Orlando Magic’s five-point loss to the Toronto Raptors, who took my favorite player, Hedo Turkoglu, and pitted him against the Magic. Not cool. Dad tried to get us tickets to the game tonight, but it’s probably for the best that his attempts failed. It was an emotional game. We ended up having dinner at one of my favorite Italian restaurants, Carrabba’s.

Her work with several cancer initiatives and children's foundations makes her an ideal candidate for promoting the spina bifida cause.

Her work for cancer initiatives and children's organizations makes her an ideal candidate for promoting the spina bifida cause.

Several hours later, already in my pajamas and still suffering the effects of my impulsive meal, here I am. I’m not yet ready to give up on the daytime talk-show circuit for promoting “Holdin’ Out for a Hero,” so Mom offered the idea of writing to Kelly Ripa. The daytime Emmy award winner first made her career as an actress on the soap opera “All My Children.” She has been working alongside Regis Philbin as cohost of the daytime talk show “Live with Regis and Kelly,” for the past eight years.

But Kelly is not one to take her fame for granted. After a friend was diagnosed with ovarian cancer, Ripa offered her support to the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund. Also, some of the proceeds from the sales of Electrolux washers and dryers, for which she is the spokesperson, will go towards the fund.

Kelly also backs the Breast Cancer Research Foundation, and Stand Up For A Cure, which promotes lung cancer research.

Last, but certainly not least, the actress supports the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, The Art of Elysium, and Love Our Children USA.

It just goes to show that she’s more than just a pretty face on daytime television. Rather, she uses that position to further the causes that are close to her heart.

I better go and defrost in my bathrobe. I wish you all a very happy T.G.I.F. tomorrow! Stay warm.

Love,

Laurita ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

