Day 134- Action Magazine

Wanting to be a revolutionary is easy. Actually being one isn’t so much. Therefore, I want to sincerely apologize for not blogging yesterday. I should have written an entry earlier in the day, but I went to my aunt’s house in the afternoon, and ended up going to the movies with Kevin and his girl Carol. I must say, I’m surprised. “Avatar” was awesome! We saw it in IMAX at Universal Cineplex, and it really does live up to the hype it’s been getting. If you like fast-paced, action-packed, sci-fi movies with heart, I really recommend this one. To be honest, I wasn’t going to see it unless I went with somebody. I’m glad I did.

But yes, under the circumstances, I am writing two entries for you tonight! Today was my first day of classes, so things are about to get a little “crunchier.” (I just totally made that up right now, and went with it!) I’ll admit, it wasn’t an easy day. Although the temperature did rise a few degrees today, I had to go to the UCF main campus today, and I felt the drastic difference between how it felt today and how it felt just a few months ago in early December.

Add to the bitter elements the difficulty of pushing a wheelchair with a heavy backpack around campus, and you’ll get the gist of my first day back as a full-time college senior. I no longer envy any of my peers that have attended large campuses. By the time I made it to the bus back to Rosen College, from where either of my parents always pick me up, I was fatigued and my arms were burning from the strenuous effort my muscles had put forth, lactic acid coursing through my body (Google it if you have no idea what I’m talking about!).

From here on out, I may want to just stay put in one building for as long as possible, so I don’t get burned out fast. That might be a good piece of advice for all you fellow collegians to take away from my experience. Try to find a building that has a café, or some food source, nearby, as well as comfortable restrooms and a decent study area. (There are an infinite number of study areas on any given college campus.) Trust me. You don’t want to feel in your first week of classes the way that you feel during finals!

This organization's magazine caters to the physically-challenged community, offering resources, as well as a forum for its readers.

“Day 134” is “Action,” a free publication from the United Spinal Association. Membership with the association is absolutely free, and you get their bimonthly magazine, which includes news about the latest advances in medical technology for people with a spinal cord injury, and resources that may help or interest readers.

I’d like to write to them and ask them if I can submit an article about my blog, and its mission, so that interested readers in the spina bifida community will have access to it.

Stick around. I’ll see if I can rustle up another entry in a few minutes! Cheerio, for now!

Laurita 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

