Day 157- Lucymar Rivera

“As a mother comforts her child, so will I comfort you.” –Isaiah 66:13

When a disturbed woman called her show, Lucymar was able to offer some life-saving advice.

That’s precisely what Lucymar Rivera, a highly respected radio personality in Orlando, had to do one day, ten years ago. An elderly woman called her station, the Spanish-language WPRD AM 1440, during the broadcast of Lucymar’s show, “Las Mañanitas,” saying that she “didn’t see any reason to go on living.” After consoling the woman over the air, Rivera ended her show early and drove to the woman’s house, “where she persuaded her to seek counseling and get help,” the Orlando Sentinel‘s  Victor Manuel Ramos reported.

According to the Dec. 19 article, “The show’s promo introduces her as tu amiga, mi amiga, nuestra amiga – ‘your friend, my friend, our friend.'”

But to me, she sounds like more of a “hero,” which is why I want to make her my “Day 157!” I am thrilled to be able to reach out to the local media and other Hispanic communicators. After all, Latinos are the ethnic group with the highest incidence of spina bifida, so it’s very crucial that information about this condition is being shared with the Spanish-speaking population. I’m blessed to be bilingual, but I need to put myself in the shoes of others who are arriving in the United States with very little knowledge of the language and the culture, and who also have a relative with spina bifida.

Today I was feeling just a little bit better, although I’m still dealing with a runny nose. I had my class at Valencia, and since it was pouring out, I stayed in the same building and did homework. Tomorrow, I get to go to UCF.

I better get moving…a long day awaits! Please remember to visit http://www.cnn.com/impact to find out how you can help the people of Haiti who need our support.

Love,

Laura 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

