Day 160- The Miami Herald

Just when my confidence in this endeavor starts wavering, something happens to boost it back up. I’m so excited to announce that the Orlando Sentinel‘s blog, “Hispanosphere,” has published my guest post! This is, in my mind, is a big step for making people aware of spina bifida, especially the Latino community, which is particularly vulnerable to this condition. It’s in English, so please check it out! You can read this entry at:

http://blogs.orlandosentinel.com/news_hispanicaffai…rs/2010/02/latina-on-a-quest-more-need-to-know-about-spina-bifida.html

Please do share this with everyone you can find! I need everybody’s help if this grassroots effort is going to succeed.

"I'm going to Miami...Bienvenido a Miami!"

The next publication I will “target” (he he) is The Miami Herald. It is of the utmost importance that information about “Holdin’ Out for a Hero,” and about spina bifida, gets out to the Latino community, and Miami, of course, has a very big Latino community.

A very big thank-you (GRACIAS!) to Victor Manuel Ramos of the Orlando Sentinel for making it possible for me to publish my piece. I can’t thank you enough.

Well, that’s it for tonight. That’s some pretty crazy weather they’ve been having in the north. Up there, it’s freak snowstorms. Down here, it’s severe rainstorms and tornado warnings. Stay safe.

God Bless,

Laurita ♥

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 160- The Miami Herald

  1. nick

    Life is an emotional roller coaster… you on for the ride?

  2. Thank you, Laura, for sharing your story with us. I also appreciate that you came back, answered the comments and helped to steer that discussion in a different direction. I think that what you are doing is important and hope the message is heard by people who have a say in research and by expectant mothers who can work on prevention.

    • Laura

      Thank YOU Victor, for allowing me to share my story, and my mission. I’m learning to take what some say with a grain of salt, and to listen to those with words of encouragement.

Leave a Reply

