Day 174- Russian Embassy

It’s happening. What started out as a somewhat-local mission has expanded to become an international effort! I realized it only yesterday after received an E-mail from Russia to help a little girl with spina bifida who has not been adopted.

Well, spina bifida is, in fact, an international issue, as we’ve seen in the past. What’s more, there are many other countries in which the situation of a person with spina bifida would be expected to be more difficult, than in the U.S.

I have decided that the best course of action to help Masha (see “Day 173”), whatever that course may be, will have to include some sort of contact with the Russian embassy in the U.S. I have been informed by the person helping Masha that she would prefer that Masha be adopted by a family in the U.S. So, my next steps will be to 1) reach out to the Russian embassy in D.C. to ask them for help in facilitating an arrangement for Sasha; and 2) reach out to national publications willing to publish a story (written by me, I suppose!) about Masha, in the hopes of generating public interest in her plight.

This is Maria, "Masha," the little girl in Russia I'm trying to help! She's a precious little angel, isn't she?

So, those are a few of the things I plan to be working on for now.

As for me, I’m doing alright! My allergies are still bothering me, but I have been infection-free for a while now, and that’s great. (Cippro really is a “wonder drug!” Prescription only, people.)

And now, I want to honor a special request from someone who E-mailed me. Ms. Victoria Taylor, who does public relations for Sean Penn, wrote to me after I published “Day 170.” She wanted me to share info with you guys about the J/P HRO campaign called “Beat the Rain.” The organization’s campaign aims to help relocate thousands of Haitians who will potentially be vulnerable to the onslaught of rain that has already begun over there. So, to learn about the campaign, and how you can contribute to help them stay safe, visit http://www.jphro.org or http://www.beattherain.org.

The Haitian people have lived through so much hardship, and it must be terrifying for them to know that even more struggles await. But, they are resilient, and with our help, they will persevere.

So…that’s it for now. Stick around for “Day 175,” coming right up, and we’ll be all caught up! (I promise.)

Talk to you again soon,

Laura ♥

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 174- Russian Embassy

  1. Victoria

    Thank you so much for helping to raise awareness, and I hope you have a wonderful day!

    • Laura

      You’re very welcome, Victoria! Thank you so much for your E-mail. I hope and pray that the “Beat the Rain” campaign is a success. 🙂

Leave a Reply

