Day 183- March of Dimes

Some of you may have seen my Facebook updates today, and you may have seen them as foreshadowing! This afternoon, I attended the March of Dimes Knightwalk for Babies for the UCF chapter of March of Dimes. I was invited by Chelsea Davis of the chapter after I told her about “Holdin’ Out for a Hero,” and asked her to share information about this cause with the rest of her group.

Today's walk showed a diverse community coming together for one reason-- babies.

Let me tell you, it was a great experience. Although I did not participate in the “walk” itself, my parents helped me set up a table with flyers promoting the blog. Thankfully, I was able to distribute quite a few, and most importantly, I feel I connected with many people there. The UCF community is awesome. I even got to hand a flyer to Dr. John Hitt, the president of UCF.

I am really grateful to God, of course, for making it all happen, and for allowing Chelsea and me to cross paths that day at the Student Union. If not, I would have missed out on this. I also appreciate that my parents helped me pull it together, with Dad going to Kinko’s or someplace, and printing flyers at practically the eleventh hour (a detail I had somewhat overlooked!).

Then, they drove to UCF with me, and helped me with my efforts.

Thanks especially to Chelsea and to Julia Senecal, and everyone else for embracing my cause and being so encouraging and welcoming! All of you at the March of Dimes are awesome and you are making a big difference in raising funds and awareness.

An especially emotional element of today’s event was that there were families with children who had been preemies. Although I am quite familiar with the March of Dimes’ work to help prevent babies being born prematurely, I confess it is something I’ve had little personal exposure to.

Of course, March of Dimes also educates women about the importance of taking folic acid before and during pregnancy, and that is where my mission for Spina Bifida awareness is tied to theirs. They are about prevention, and I’m all about what happens when prevention fails. In that respect, I felt very connected with the people who participated today. Even though they may not have known everything I go through, they respected me for it.

At the end of the day, though, it’s all about having fun while learning from others and their experiences– and it helps if there’s free food!

Please remember Chile and Haiti in your prayers, as well as everyone else who has been impacted by these devastating earthquakes. Visit http://www.cnn.com/impact to learn how you can help both countries recover from these disasters.

Love,

Laura 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

