Day 188- The Wish Upon A Hero Foundation

The name itself sound like something out of a Disney movie (or this blog, perhaps!). As soon as I saw this non-profit mentioned in Look to the Stars, I felt compelled to check it out. I’m glad I did!

The Wish Upon a Hero Foundation helps companies, and people like you and me, grant wishes to individuals. While you can become a member of TeamWish, where there are different membership tiers and you can provide financial support to the organization to grant its wishes, there is also a community forum where you can join by creating a free account, and choose the wishes you “wish” to grant! Wish Upon a Hero has a message board where people can post their wishes, and others can choose to grant them. It’s a simple way for the average person to become a hero for somebody else.

Turning the average person into a "hero" for another, this organization ironically echoes my belief that anyone can be a hero!

When I read about this foundation’s mission, I felt overjoyed. It’s such a brilliant concept, and yet it is a reminder of what we as human beings need to be doing for one another on a daily basis.

Wishes on the forum run the gamut of air mattresses, to clothing, to children’s car seats, to– the most heart-wrenching of all– miracles.

Yes, they may be the most difficult to provide, but they’re the easiest to ask for. But, think of it this way. Years ago we wouldn’t even have imagined that there would exist such a platform on which people could post their wishes, and others could grant them.

And with so many kind-hearted strangers out in cyberspace, a miracle is now only a mouse-click away.

A very special shout-out goes to my friend Amber, who has been so supportive of me and of my efforts for spina bifida awareness from the very beginning! Amber, you really have become a hero to me.

Also, I wanted to mention that Nayomi is in the hospital. You might recall she is my five-year-old cousin who had ear surgery a few short months ago (or weeks maybe, I think). Well, this has nothing to do with her ear, as she seemed to be recovering very well from that procedure. My aunt took her to the emergency room with severe stomach flu symptoms, and a fever. This was very early in the morning, around 4 a.m., I think. When I called my aunt to check up on them this afternoon, she told me they had been sent home with a prescription for an antibiotic around noon. Well, tonight she had to go back to the E.R. I’m not sure what the status of the situation is now.

Please pray, and don’t forget to check out Impact Your World for details on how you can help Haiti and Chile recover from their natural disasters.

And let’s not just “hold out for a hero”– let’s each be one!

May God Bless you all with Peace, Hope & Love,

Laura 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

