Day 194- Robin Meade

First of all, my apologies to all of you for the technical difficulties I experienced last night. As you may be aware of, I did blog yesterday, but the time-limit on the computer left me rushing to finish quickly, and the quality of my blog entry was compromised as a result. I tried to do too much research and left little time for actual writing.

I began to tell you about my day yesterday, and I left off after I chased Matt Lauer in the lobby of the NBC Studios building. Afterward, we left to check out tickets for a play, and on out way out, my phone rang. It was Bill Hemmer! He had E-mailed me earlier, in response to my E-mail that I was currently in New York City.

So, he called, and he invited me and my parents to see him at his office at Fox News. I haven’t seen Bill since 2005, so I was pretty psyched.

One of my favorite things to discuss with Bill, appropriately enough, is the news of the day. I love hearing his take on things (which, I will not share here!), because he really makes me think before I speak. That’s really hard to do, let me tell you!

Okay, so maybe I don’t really know Bill’s take on things. The truth is, he’s a tease when it comes to this sort of thing. He’ll keep you guessing on his personal views. He’s really got the whole “objectivity in the news” thing going for him.

But yes…I do have a couple of “stories” to share today. It was a very non-traditional day for my family today. We ventured out of Manhattan for the afternoon. My Uncle Tom (Dad’s best friend from his Columbia University days) picked us up and drove us up to Long Island, where his family lives. It was quite an experience to see a part of New York that isn’t covered with billboards, lights, marquees, and yellow taxis. (Although there was a lot of traffic!) It was almost idyllic in nature, with its currently barren trees and quaint, country-homes. We saw Uncle Tom’s mom, and spent a couple of hours there. Really, it was a beautiful afternoon.

Then, he drove us back to the theatre district, near our hotel, where Mom and I wandered off in search of a play with available, affordable tickets. I really wanted to see my friend, Wesley Taylor, in his new role in “The Addams Family,” a musical. However, it was already past seven when we landed in the district, and so we went to see “Rock of Ages” at a theater close by.

Wesley and I were in the theatre magnet program together in high school; he’s a year older than me. I hadn’t seen him in, like, over six or seven years, so the final curtain call had barely ended when we high-tailed it out of the theatre and made a mad-dash to try to make it on time to see him leaving his theatre through the stage door, where all the fans and theatregoers wait in anticipation of autographs and pictures with the cast.

I was freezing my tush off, but while we waited patiently, a familiar man walked right past us. It was Kelsey Grammer! He posed with me for a photo and autographed a playbill for me. My mom’s gloves even got stuck on the camera when she tried to take a picture, but he was patient, and let her take the picture. He’s a genuinely nice guy.

Finally, not a moment too soon, Wesley came out of the theatre, and he seemed really happy to see me. I’m really proud to see one of the nicest guys from my high school days make it on Broadway. And he’s talented– very talented! We chatted for a while and got caught up, and then we left before turning into ice sculptures.

Okay, by now you’re wondering what this all has to do with CNN’s Robin Meade. The answer: absolutely nothing. The truth is, while I could find no specific charity associated with her name, she seems like a genuinely good person.

A true beauty and class act, Robin is rockin' it every weekday morning on HLN.

Ms. Meade is the host of “Morning Express with Robin Meade” on HLN, CNN’s sister network (formerly known as “Headline News”). Robin is funny, bright and, well, a morning person, I suppose!

And as a former Miss Ohio, and having made it to the top ten in the 1992 Miss America pageant, she definitely gives her viewers a reason to wake up early.

Robin is the author of the New York Times bestseller Morning Sunshine! How to Radiate Confidence and Feel It Too. She’s also the winner of a regional Emmy award for her coverage of the 1995 fatal collision between a school bus and a train in Fox River Grove, Illinois (from Wikipedia).

Well, I better leave you now, even though there has been so much going on in my life that I’m beginning to wish I’d brought a video camera! Thanks to all of you who have followed me on this journey as far as New York. It’s been amazing.

Much love and hugs to Wesley– you’re only going to continue to rise to the top! Please don’t forget about me when you make it really really big!  😉

Love to all,

Laura ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

