Day 201- Christina Aguilera

I know my blog entries for this past week have been a little lacking in estrogen, so I decided to do some extensive online research today for a very philanthropic female celeb, and I came across Christina Aguilera. The Latina made it big as a pop star in her teens (I listened to her!). Now, as an adult, it seems she is renowned for her charitable contributions and efforts.

Media_httpwillyoubemy_byttg

According to Wikipedia, Aguilera donated $200,000 to the Women’s Center & Shelter of Greater Pittsburgh, which is her hometown, after touring the facility.

In 2005, when Christina married Jordan Bratman, the newlyweds donated all of their wedding gifts to charities supporting victims of Hurricane Katrina. Two years ago, she headlined the benefit concert London’s Africa Rising, which raises awareness about issues plaguing the African continent.

Last year, Aguilera was named the global spokesperson for World Hunger Relief , and has traveled with Bratman to Guatemala to educate others about issues like malnutrition.

She appeared in the “Hope for Haiti” telethon in January, and has been honored at the GLAAD Awards for depicting LGBT people in her music video for “Beautiful.”

I’ve been having some major issues with my Internet connection today, so I’m going to go ahead and wrap it up now! Please remember to visit Impact Your World to learn how you can help the victims of the recent earthquakes in Haiti and Chile. I know it’s been a while, but these people are in it for the long haul. They will be relying on our support for months, maybe years, to come.

God Bless & Good Night,

Laurita  😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized