Day 205- Pres. Barack Obama

I’m not even going to sugarcoat it. I feel utterly crappy today. Everyone’s happy, I know, because spring has sprung. Truth be told, spring is perhaps the worst season for my allergies!

But, life goes on. And good things happen on seemingly bad days, too. President Obama’s signature on the healthcare reform bill is proof of that (and not a moment too soon for me!) to many in America; however, in the immortal words of that guy from “Reading Rainbow,” “You don’t have to take my word for it!”

Visit this link for CNN’s “Timeline,” which offers the basics on the changes that will be put into effect immediately, and also the changes that will be happening over the next few years in terms of healthcare coverage.

Thanks to this man, people like me can stay on their parents' insurance until age 26, and people like me can't be denied healthcare coverage due to a pre-existing condition (like, um, spina bifida).

I don’t think I need to tell you that I genuinely regard Barack Obama as a hero. It has nothing to do with his political affiliation. It’s because, all my life, I’ve been taking my health insurance for granted, but several weeks before my 22nd birthday, I had the rug pulled out from under me. I was told that I would be removed from Dad’s policy on my birthday. Quite a hefty gift, eh?

Fortunately, my parents were able to have me “reinstated” because I am still a college student. Next term, I plan to finish my classes at UCF, which would have meant being removed from my parents’ policy once again, had it not been for the historic bill that was passed today.

It also hits very close to home for me, since my Mom is a part-time employee, and therefore has no benefits. (If it weren’t for my Dad’s insurance, she and I would be in trouble!)

Yes, there have been co-pays. Yes, there have been frustrated phone calls to the insurance provider. But I’m very confident that being able to stay under that same policy until age 26 will keep me out of the poorhouse in the near future.

It is with my humble gratitude that I hope to address a letter to President Obama, first of all, to thank him for passing what people are calling the most important piece of social legislation since the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.

The second matter I would like to address in my letter to him is spina bifida. Awareness of spina bifida needs to be a national issue, and it needs to be on the agenda of the commander-in-chief.

First Lady Michelle Obama has selected childhood obesity as her platform during her residency in the White House. While I very sincerely admire her efforts to get the children of America moving and eating healthier, isn’t it high time someone at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue took up spina bifida awareness as their cause?

It is my greatest hope that the President of the United States will stand by his words as he pronounced them today: “We are a nation that does what is hard, what is necessary, what is right.”

I believe in this cause. I believe it is right.

Love,

Laurita

P.S. YES, spina bifida is, in fact, a preexisting condition.  😉

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 205- Pres. Barack Obama

  1. Mark

    While I agree that there are potentially good things regarding this new law I don’t think it will have the desired affect (make health care available to more people). I say this because even though more people will have insurance what’s to say the doctors have to accept that insurance?

  2. Wenchie

    SO glad your folks got the insurance BS straightened out.

    Man, as if dealing with the challenges that come with a medical situation isnt frustrating enough, insurance garbage is just salt into a wound we didnt create.

    Hope the seasonal allergies dont plow you under too long. 🙂

Leave a Reply

