Day 233- Rep. Lee Terry (R, Nebraska)

For the next 36 days (from March 28 to May 2),  I will be contacting and writing about 36 extraordinary members of the House of Representatives. They are all extraordinary in that they form the bipartisan Congressional Spina Bifida Caucus, and so they strive to address the unique needs of the spina bifida community in the U.S. My “mission” is to write to them, and urge them to make quality of life, and not solely prevention, a priority on their agenda in Congress. It has come to my attention that education about spina bifida is critical during all the stages of development– from planning to prevent spina bifida through the consumption of folic acid, to comprehensive education about spina bifida once it is diagnosed. We need to educate, starting with the physicians and other healthcare providers, so that they will be made aware of the potential that each child with spina bifida possesses.

Terry has been a supporter of the American Diabetes Association for many years.

Last night I started to tell you about my adventures at the Hispanic Business and Consumer Expo yesterday afternoon. After I finished my radio interview with Anthony Suárez, Mom and I continued our rounds at the booths. By the end of our tour, we had a bilingual magazine and a local Spanish newspaper interested in the “Holdin’ Out” story! I sincerely hope that all the contacts I made yesterday will make good on their promises and promote the spina bifida cause to the public.

Rep. Lee Terry of Nebraska has a pretty consistent, conservative voting record. He is very pro-life, and has voted conservatively on issues ranging from stem cell research, to health care, to civil liberties.

He was, however, a board member of the American Diabetes Association, and every year, he hosts Swing for a Cure, a golf tournament to benefit the ADA.

As the semester winds down, I will be able to continue with my letter-writing campaign to our nation’s lawmakers. Meanwhile, I am using every opportunity available to me to network on behalf of our cause. Please remember to become a fan of “Holdin’ Out for a Hero” on our Facebook page! Tell your friends. Remember, all it may take is for you to tell that one other person who will feel compelled to tell someone else.

That’s it for tonight, everyone. I have a class presentation tomorrow at 9 a.m., so I better be at my best and brightest!

May God Bless all of you for making “Holdin’ Out” a part of your day– and of your life.

Love,

Laurita ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

