Day 237- Rep. Carolyn McCarthy (D, New York)

For the next 36 days (from March 28 to May 2),  I will be contacting and writing about 36 extraordinary members of the House of Representatives. They are all extraordinary in that they form the bipartisan Congressional Spina Bifida Caucus, and so they strive to address the unique needs of the spina bifida community in the U.S. My “mission” is to write to them, and urge them to make quality of life, and not solely prevention, a priority on their agenda in Congress. It has come to my attention that education about spina bifida is critical during all the stages of development– from planning to prevent spina bifida through the consumption of folic acid, to comprehensive education about spina bifida once it is diagnosed. We need to educate, starting with the physicians and other healthcare providers, so that they will be made aware of the potential that each child with spina bifida possesses.

It happens to the best of us. At least, that’s what people tell you when they know you made a mistake and they don’t want you to feel upset. Today, during a thorough update of the notebook where all “Holdin’ Out” – related information is recorded, Mom and I realized I had been lagging behind a day! I had posted the same “day number” twice. I really am sorry for the confusion this must have caused. I can now proudly say that we are up-to-date in our records.

What’s more, 26 copies of the letter I wrote to Congress were mailed today. I only have ten more copies I need to send out, so I will get to it after this weekend!

Now, let’s talk politics. (Some more.)

McCarthy is "a strong advocate for hearing loss prevention, detection, and treatment," and has supported a tax credit enabling hearing impaired people to afford hearing aids.

Rep. Carolyn McCarthy of New York state is deeply committed to improving the quality of life of her constituents in the Long Island area. She has over four decades of experience as a nurse, and so she genuinely recognizes the need for a better healthcare system and for services to the community.

Congresswoman McCarthy is on the Subcommittee on Healthy Families and Communities, as well as on the Subcommittee on Health, Employment, Labor, and Pensions.

She is a strong advocate for gun control– an issue she has a very personal interest in. In 1993, her husband was shot to death by a mass murderer while on a Long Island commuter train. Her son was seriously injured.

Rep. McCarthy has dyslexia, and testified in support of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). She’s an honorary board member of Americans Against Gun Violence, and is on the Board of Directors for New Yorkers Against Gun Violence.

It humbles me that Rep. McCarthy has turned tragedy into hope through her tireless efforts in regulating guns.

And, while I was beginning to write this entry tonight, I got a Facebook update that has me elated! For those who haven’t yet heard, I’m going to the Clearwater’s Fun n’ Sun Jazz Weekend to see Spencer Day! We leave sometime tomorrow, and it’s about a two-hour drive.

I’ve been posting a few more times on his Facebook page, so that he doesn’t forget me, or our cause. I was beginning to get a little anxious, to tell the truth, because I had no idea what this event was really going to be like, and if he’ll have time to socialize with his fans before or after his performance.

Just as I’m about to have a coronary, I check my Facebook page again, and see the following comment under the comment I posted:

“Hi Laurita! Yes! Come find me after the show. Would love to get more details on your cause. See you tomorrow! xo”

Once again, I apologize for any hair-raising shrieks that were heard in the greater Orlando area.  🙂

So, as you see, for an uneventful day spent at home, it’s been pretty darn eventful!

Oh yeah– here’s a photo I took of the Congressional post office I’m running here at home:

All in a day's work.

So, now I’m signing off to do some last-minute packing for a one-night stay! I’m really excited, and I hope to take some pictures and share them with you.

The traveling continues…I guess I’m a “vagabond,” too.

Love,

Laurita ♥

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Day 237- Rep. Carolyn McCarthy (D, New York)

  1. Nick

    I can’t believe you had wrote those all by hand! Get some inkjet labels. Save those pretty little mannies you have. You’re a journalist, you might want to get use to living out of a suitcase. Have fun tomorrow.

  2. Laura

    It’s my mom’s handwriting, silly. Do you honestly think I can afford to write all those envelopes by hand? That’s what assistant moms are for. 🙂 It’s a great investment– I would recommend it to anyone.

  3. Nick

    Well, I had questioned your sanity. I know you love to write but by hand is old school for a reason!

    I wish I had someone to do my homework. No assistants for me. Unfortunately, I’m the only one with any sort of creative ability in my family. If my mom can sketch a stick man in proportion I’m proud of her! 🙂

  4. wenchie

    Thanks for sharing Rep. McCarthy’s story. I had no idea she has dealt with such tragedy in such a very positive and pro-active manner. Very impressive indeed.

    Goodness you sure did get a lot done today! Somehow, someway, I have no doubt all your efforts will touch someone and they will wake up.

    And I think it’s GREAT that Spencer has heard you and is wanting to meet with you. This has the opportunity to be a “win-win” proposition for all involved!!

    Safe travels!!

Leave a Reply

