Day 239- Rep. Brad Miller (D, North Carolina)

For the next 36 days (from March 28 to May 2),  I will be contacting and writing about 36 extraordinary members of the House of Representatives. They are all extraordinary in that they form the bipartisan Congressional Spina Bifida Caucus, and so they strive to address the unique needs of the spina bifida community in the U.S. My “mission” is to write to them, and urge them to make quality of life, and not solely prevention, a priority on their agenda in Congress. It has come to my attention that education about spina bifida is critical during all the stages of development– from planning to prevent spina bifida through the consumption of folic acid, to comprehensive education about spina bifida once it is diagnosed. We need to educate, starting with the physicians and other healthcare providers, so that they will be made aware of the potential that each child with spina bifida possesses.

It’s going to be tough to follow last night’s entry! Yesterday was absolutely amazing. Part of me still can’t believe that I really met Spencer Day, and that he spent so much time talking to me and my family.

Media_httpwillyoubemy_akvcf

Let me start off by saying that there was little information to be gleaned from Web sites that gave details on Rep. Brad Miller of North Carolina and his caucus memberships. What I did find out is that Congressman Miller is on the Congressional Community College Caucus, and is Co-Founder of the Historic Preservation Caucus.

Rep. Miller is a licensed attorney, having obtained his JD from Columbia University.

I should go soon. I went to bed around 3:15 last night, because I honestly was too wound up! Plus, I have a few E-mails to write before going to bed. Tomorrow is another day, to be spent at UCF.

However you spend your day tomorrow, I hope it’s happy.

Laurita ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized