Day 257- Benicio del Toro

I enjoy writing about all kinds of artists– not just actors and musicians. I’ve had the opportunity to research and write about quite a few actors and musicians, and even some writers. It is all the more amazing when I write about someone who has had a passion for several art forms, and not just one.

Media_httpwillyoubemy_obpib

Benicio won accolades for his portrayal of the revolutionary Ché Guevara in a biopic. Does my banner photo bear any resemblance to him?

Benicio del Toro is an actor. Duh. We already knew that. But what you might not have known is that he paints, and his passion as a young boy growing up in Puerto Rico and Pennsylvania, was music.

You name it– the man has tried it all! And succeeded, at that. Not only is del Toro the third Puerto Rican actor to garner an Oscar win (for his supporting role in the 2001 film “Traffic”); he is also using his visual arts talents for the greater good. Benicio’s artwork has been featured on products sold to benefit Whatever It Takes, a unique charity that uses artwork from entertainers to support charities from UNICEF to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital; from Oxfam to the Red Cross. Hey– who knows? His artwork could be used someday to promote awareness of spina bifida. Here’s hoping!

Additionally, del Toro has supported the ONE Campaign, and he participated in the Kite Runner Auction, which raised funds for the Afghanistan Relief Organization.

Well, to be honest, I thought it was going to be very difficult to leave Washington, D.C. behind and come back to our Hollywood Heroes, but I guess it wasn’t! The main idea is that there are people all around who are doing incredible work for others. They can’t help it if they’re already famous, he he.

I better go now. I just digested a lot of information today! As it turns out, I might be going to the National Association of Hispanic Journalists’ convention in Denver this June. My parents and I talked about it, and we decided on the spur of the moment that– yes– I’m going. So, Mom and I will be flying to Denver near the end of June. Please let me know if you live in that area, or if you will be in the area between June 23-26! I have no idea if this blog has reached Colorado or not. I guess I’m bound for the Rockies this summer!

Love & Blessings,

Laura ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

