Day 271- David Arquette

Media_httpwillyoubemy_qiigp

Arquette is devoted to Feeding America, as well as to a host of other benevolent causes.

They’re perhaps one of the cutest couples in Hollywood– David Arquette and his wife, Courteney Cox. David, it seems, is a charity veteran. He is Chair of the Entertainment Council for Feeding America, which we all know by now is a cause that is very close to Spencer Day‘s heart!

Arquette has supported Clothes Off Our Back, The Art of Elysium, Whatever It Takes, and the Lunchbox Fund, to name just a few.

In addition, David and Courteney founded OmniPeace, a clothing company that donates fifty percent of all its proceeds to the Millennium Promise Alliance, whose goal is to end extreme poverty by the year 2025. I pray that happens– almost as much as I pray for widespread awareness of spina bifida.

It appears that whatever David Arquette is doing, he gets by with a little help from his friends– his former- “Friends”- star- wife, that is!

S0– I bet you’re all wondering about last night’s New Hope for Kids Volunteer Appreciation Dinner I was going to speak at! Well, I daresay it went beautifully. The dinner was excellent– a delicious, catered buffet meal. Shortly after everyone got settled, the speakers went up, one by one. I mean, I was pretty much the only speaker there on behalf of the “Wish Kids.” But, there was David Joswick, the Executive Director, Rosie Wilder, the Wish Program Director, Cory Johns, the Volunteer Coordinator, and a few others.

Then, it was my turn. I talked for only a few short minutes. I told an abridged but still detailed version of my wish story, how I met Bill Hemmer, and the whole experience. Then, I shifted the topic toward my present and future goals.

Of course, I told them about “Holdin’ Out for a Hero.” Afterward, many people came up to me, thanked me for sharing my story, and I gave out my business card. That’s always the best part about these speaking opportunities. I also get the chance to “break the ice” with people and they approach me!

I feel encouraged by last night’s contacts, and hope to hear from some of them soon.

Love,

Laurita ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

