Day 275- Morgan Freeman

Although Morgan Freeman’s face is very memorable and renowned, it really isn’t the very first thing that pops into my mind when I think about him. No, actually, the first thing that comes to mind is his voice– powerful, assuming, and worthy of respect.

Media_httpwillyoubemy_dkusq

Mr. Freeman is aware of this, so he uses his voice a lot. He is both an actor and a narrator, and has had multiple Academy Award nominations as well as wins for his brilliant work.

What he should really get an award for is his charity work. Along with Julia Roberts and Willie Nelson, Freeman is a spokesperson for Earth Biofuels, an organization which encourages the use of clean fuel.

In 2004, Freeman put together a cookbook featuring recipes from Hilary Swank, Tom Hanks and other celebrities. Proceeds went toward the Grenada Relief Fund (now called Plan!t Now), to help the victims of natural disasters.

He has supported the Mississippi Animal Rescue League, even sponsoring the creation of a new research unit. He has donated to the Red Cross and supports Stand Up To Cancer.

And, darn it, he has played God– and Nelson Mandela. So, I think his résumé speaks for itself in terms of credibility!

Seriously, there is no way I will do the man justice, so I better just quit while I’m ahead.

Before I go, let me just wish my wonderful father, Miguel, a beautiful birthday again! It was an awesome day spent with some of our out-of-town relatives here at home. If it takes me the rest of my life, I will spend it trying to be the best daughter ever, which you truly deserve. I love you!

May (the real, not Morgan Freeman!) God Bless you all,

Laurita ♥

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized