Day 278- Starlight Children’s Foundation

I know I’ve sort of been neglecting the non-profit realm in favor of local and national, individual “heroes.” Still, I haven’t forgotten the power that a renowned foundation can have on the public’s awareness of a cause.

Starlight exists to "educate, entertain, and inspire seriously ill children."

Therefore, I will write a letter to the Starlight Children’s Foundation. This organization is dedicated to the collaboration of different people, resources and opportunities that collectively will enhance the lives of children with a chronic or life-threatening illness or condition.

Supporting their mission is a team of StarPower Ambassadors, or young artists and actors whose participation in the foundation brings awareness and publicity to the foundation’s cause.

The Starlight Children’s Foundation offers a variety of programs and services that are meant to connect kids with other kids who are experiencing the same challenges in their lives. One of these is Starbright World, an online social network for teens with chronic conditions and their siblings, so that they can interact with each other, whether from home or from hospital.

Another program is Great Escapes, which arranges outings and activities for the families, like picnics, sports events, or even mother-daughter makeovers.

So, I will be writing to Starlight and asking them to please spread a little awareness of “Holdin’ Out for a Hero” and our spina bifida cause!

“I wish I may, I wish I might…”

Laurita 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 278- Starlight Children’s Foundation

  1. Someone

    Companies or celebrities won’t endorse an individual. In order for you to achieve your goal, you need to team up with the national organization for spina bifida. No one is going to contact you and say “okay I’m the official spokesperson”. They want to ensure that they will be paid for their work, and their payment has to come from an established organization, not from an individual.

    • Laura

      Hi “Someone” (do you have a name?)

      While I do appreciate your interest, let me assure you that I have made repeated attempts to contact the national Spina Bifida Association to “team up” with them. They have expressed a lack of interest in getting involved with this.

      Even if we do not yet have an “official spokesperson,” believe me, I’ve already done a lot of work to spread awareness of SB and that is why many people have recently demonstrated an interest in it.

      Furthermore, by contacting different non-profits, I hope to rally their support, as well. I remain optimistic about this.

      Thank you,

      Laura

Leave a Reply

